The Real Estate Appraiser Board regulates individuals and firms that estimate the value of real estate, as well as appraisal management companies (AMCs), in accordance with federal guidelines. The Appraisal Subcommittee is the federal agency charged with oversight of state appraisal regulatory programs. The Appraisal Foundation, a non-profit entity designated by Congress as the source of appraisal qualifications and standards, serves as an umbrella organization for the Appraisal Standards Board and the Appraiser Qualifications Board.
Individuals | Business Entity Registration | Appraisal Management Companies (AMCs) | Education Providers
Applicants must read and understand the Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations (PDF). Application fees are not refundable.
DPOR Boards only accept the most recent versions of the applications provided below. DPOR Boards are not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provides access to the board's meeting schedule, agendas, and past meeting minutes
Visit the Town Hall: http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewboard.cfm?boardid=90&display=meetings
Applicants must obtain approval from the Board prior to taking the exam.
You may reach the Board office by phone at 804-367-2039 (Licensing Section) or 804-367-8552 (Board Office), by FAX at 1-866-826-8863, or by e-mail at REAppraisers@dpor.virginia.gov.Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:
Real Estate Appraiser BoardDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
The Board members do not work in the Board office. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not here on a daily basis.Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly.
Sales price is the actual price a buyer pays for a particular property. An appraisal is a detailed single property valuation, and may be obtained any time throughout the year. Appraisals can have a variety of purposes, such as for mortgage loan, sale, home equity loan, and real estate valuations. An assessment is a mass appraisal of property as of January 1 each year for tax purposes. Assessments are based on large numbers of sales that are analyzed to determine values for large groups of similar properties.
Appraisers are required to comply with Board regulations and the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. If you believe an appraiser may have violated state regulations or federal standards, you may file a complaint with DPOR's Regulatory Programs and Compliance Section.
Send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, and include your license/certificate number on your check. Please complete the Name/Address Change Form if you have moved or changed your name. Mail this information to:Real Estate Appraiser Board
Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
You CANNOT continue to practice in Virginia after your license has expired.
No. The Board's regulations provide a 30-day period after the expiration date in which a license may be renewed without penalty (therefore, your payment is actually 31 days late). Staff cannot waive the fee. Board regulations state that if the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not complete within 30 days of the expiration date, a reinstatement fee is required.
Yes. Board regulations state that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. If the renewal fee is received after the due date, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee. If the reinstatement fee is received after the due date, you will be required to reapply for licensure, meeting all current requirements.
Many Boards allow you to update your ADDRESS using Online Services, so login to your personal profile to see if this is an option for your license type. The alternative is to complete, print, sign, and submit an Address Change Form to the Board office by mail. Unless updated online, all Address Change Forms must be received by the Board in writing. When providing a post office box as the mailing address, it must be accompanied by the physical address.
To report a NAME CHANGE: complete, print, sign, and submit a Name Change Form to the Board office. All name changes must be received by the Board in writing. Individual name change requests must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, or other official documentation that verifies the name change.
Board members are appointed by the Governor. To learn more about the gubernatorial appointment process, visit the Secretary of the Commonwealth's website.
View most recent Appraiser License Revocations media advisory.
DPOR stands ready to assist veterans and active-duty military personnel as they maintain or transition to civilian careers requiring professional credentials.
Active-duty military personnel and their spouses having served outside the U.S., as well as certain diplomatic service members and veterans, may be eligible to receive up to a five-year extension for meeting license renewal requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-117 of the Code of Virginia).
Spouses of active-duty military personnel assigned to a duty station in Virginia are eligible for expedited processing using the Military Spouse Expedited License Application (PDF). A temporary, non-renewable six-month license for certain military spouses licensed in another state who need more time to meet Virginia-specific requirements may also be an option.
For honorably discharged veterans, “substantially equivalent” military training, education, or experience may be credited toward certain license requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-118).In addition, the Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs may reimburse veterans for the cost of license or certification exams. See the VA Pamphlet 22-02-1 for more information.
ALL license types
ALL license types
Don't have them yet? Don't worry. You will be able to create your profile and complete registration from the login page.
please contact us in writing or via telephone and we will work with you to make the information available.