The Professional Boxing, Wrestling, and Martial Arts Advisory Board offers guidance to the DPOR Director for regulation of promoters and events involving boxing, martial arts, and professional wrestling. The Advisory Board is composed of representatives of each discipline and two citizen members.
Applicants must read and understand the Regulations (PDF). Application fees are not refundable.
DPOR Boards only accept the most recent versions of the applications provided below. DPOR Boards are not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.
Sign up for email notification of regulatory action and meetings by registering here.
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provides access to the board's past meeting minutes.
NOTE: DPOR Advisory Boards (Boxing/Wrestling/Martial Arts and Polygraph Examiners) are grouped under one listing on the Town Hall website.
Visit the Town Hall: http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewboard.cfm?boardid=70&display=meetings.
You may reach the Board office by phone at 804-367-0186, by FAX at (877) 264-8691, or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:Professional Boxing, Wrestling, and Martial Arts Advisory BoardDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland DriveRichmond, VA 23233
No. The Board members do not work in the Board office. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not here on a daily basis.
Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly.
All applicants must disclose information about prior disciplinary actions or criminal convictions. (Criminal history is not a barrier to licensure, but must be considered in accordance with Section 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.) More detailed information for each type of license follows:
Applicants for licensure as a promoter must submit a complete application and required fees. In addition, each event must be licensed. The event application must include a card of the contests to be exhibited; the date, location, and time of the event; evidence of a surety bond in an amount equal to the sum of the total gate fee required plus the total amount due to all boxers, martial artists, and wrestlers; a copy of the contract by the promoter for the sale of rights to distribute the event by video, telephonic, or other electronic means; and a statement that the applicant has read and understands the laws and regulations.
In addition, boxing/MMA event applications must include evidence that all boxers and martial artists are covered by a health insurance policy with minimum coverage amounts of $50,000 for medical expenses and $50,000 for accidental death benefits, as well as an acknowledgement that the promoter will provide a copy of the contract between the promoter and each licensed boxer and martial artist at weigh-in. THE PROMOTER MUST APPLY FOR AN EVENT LICENSE AT LEAST 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT AND MAY NOT ADVERTISE THE EVENT UNTIL THE LICENSE HAS BEEN ISSUED.
Applicants must submit the fee and application, including a satisfactory record of professional boxing and a list of all ring names. In addition, a boxer must obtain a federal ID.
Applicants must submit the fee and application.
Applicants must submit the application and fee.
Applicants must submit the fee and application, including a statement that the applicant does not employ and does not otherwise have a financial interest in, or commercial connection to, any wrestler, boxer, martial artist, manager, trainer, or second, except that which may be necessary to arrange a fighter's participation in a specific event.
Applicants must submit the fee and application, including a statement evidencing knowledge of the laws and regulations; the treatment of injuries; physical conditioning, health care nutrition, training, first aid, and the effects of alcohol as it relates to boxing; and the bandaging of a boxer's hand.
Event licenses are valid only for the duration of the event. All other licenses expire on December 31 of the year in which the license was issued; however, licenses issued during the last 45 days of any calendar year shall expire on December 31 of the following year.
The renewal process is the same as the application process.
Kathleen (Kate) R. Nosbisch
Advisory Board members are appointed by the DPOR Director.
DPOR stands ready to assist veterans and active-duty military personnel as they maintain or transition to civilian careers requiring professional credentials.
Active-duty military personnel and their spouses having served outside the U.S., as well as certain diplomatic service members and veterans, may be eligible to receive up to a five-year extension for meeting license renewal requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-117 of the Code of Virginia).
Spouses of active-duty military personnel assigned to a duty station in Virginia are eligible for expedited processing using the Military Spouse Expedited License Application (PDF). A temporary, non-renewable six-month license for certain military spouses licensed in another state who need more time to meet Virginia-specific requirements may also be an option.
For honorably discharged veterans, “substantially equivalent” military training, education, or experience may be credited toward certain license requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-118).In addition, the Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs may reimburse veterans for the cost of license or certification exams. See the VA Pamphlet 22-02-1 for more information.
please contact us in writing or via telephone and we will work with you to make the information available.