The Fair Housing Board administers and enforces national and state fair housing laws. The laws prohibit housing discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, disability, familial status (families with children under age 18), or “elderliness” (age 55 or older). The Board investigates housing discrimination through the Virginia Fair Housing Office, and oversees an education-based certification program for housing providers.
The General Assembly established the 12-member Fair Housing Board in 2003. The Real Estate Board remains responsible for fair housing cases involving real estate licensees or their employees.
Applicants must read and understand the Fair Housing Certification Regulations (PDF). Application fees are not refundable.
DPOR Boards only accept the most recent versions of the applications provided below. DPOR Boards are not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.
Pending regulatory action (proposed changes, public hearings, etc.)
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provides access to the board's meeting schedule, agendas, and past meeting minutes.
Visit the Town Hall: http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewboard.cfm?boardid=142&display=meetings
Applicants for certification must complete a training program approved by the Fair Housing Board.
The Virginia Fair Housing Office provides training and outreach in support of its mandate to promote equal housing opportunities. Every year, staff travels throughout Virginia providing training to housing providers, housing consumers, and local and state officials. For more information, see Education & Exams under the Virginia Fair Housing Office topic.
View press release on 40th Anniversary of Virginia Fair Housing Law.
Visit the Virginia Fair Housing Office page for more fair housing resources.
You may reach the Board office by phone at 804-367-0115, by FAX at 1-866-826-8863, or by e-mail at FHCertification@dpor.virginia.gov. Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:Fair Housing BoardDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
The Board members do not work in the Board office. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not here on a daily basis. Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly.
DPOR does not administer or enforce the Landlord-Tenant Act.
The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development publishes a Landlord-Tenant Handbook (PDF).
If you think you have been discriminated against, or if you have questions about the fair housing laws, contact the Virginia Fair Housing Office.
Send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, and include your certification number on your check. Mail this information to:Fair Housing BoardDepartment of Professional & Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
No. Board regulations provide a 30-day period after the expiration date in which a license may be renewed without penalty (therefore, your payment is actually 31 days late). Staff cannot waive the fee.
Board regulations state that if the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not complete within 30 days of the expiration date, a late fee is required.
Yes. Board regulations state that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. If the renewal fee is received after the due date, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee. If the reinstatement fee is received after the due date, you will be required to reapply for licensure, meeting all current requirements.
Many Boards allow you to update your ADDRESS using Online Services, so login to your personal profile to see if this is an option for your license type. The alternative is to complete, print, sign, and submit an Address Change Form to the Board office by mail. Unless updated online, all Address Change Forms must be received by the Board in writing. When providing a post office box as the mailing address, it must be accompanied by the physical address.
To report a NAME CHANGE: complete, print, sign, and submit a Name Change Form to the Board office. All name changes must be received by the Board in writing. Individual name change requests must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, or other official documentation that verifies the name change.
Board members are appointed by the Governor. To learn more about the gubernatorial appointment process, visit the Secretary of the Commonwealth’s website.
DPOR stands ready to assist veterans and active-duty military personnel as they maintain or transition to civilian careers requiring professional credentials.
Active-duty military personnel and their spouses having served outside the U.S., as well as certain diplomatic service members and veterans, may be eligible to receive up to a five-year extension for meeting license renewal requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-117 of the Code of Virginia).
Spouses of active-duty military personnel assigned to a duty station in Virginia are eligible for expedited processing using the Military Spouse Expedited License Application (PDF). A temporary, non-renewable six-month license for certain military spouses licensed in another state who need more time to meet Virginia-specific requirements may also be an option.
For honorably discharged veterans, “substantially equivalent” military training, education, or experience may be credited toward certain license requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-118).In addition, the Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs may reimburse veterans for the cost of license or certification exams. See the VA Pamphlet 22-02-1 for more information.
Don't have them yet? Don't worry. You will be able to create your profile and complete registration from the login page.
please contact us in writing or via telephone and we will work with you to make the information available.