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VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND HOME INSPECTORS  

Transition from Home Inspector Certification to Licensure  

CHAPTER 40  

VIRGINIA CERTIFIED HOME INSPECTORS INSPECTOR LICENSING REGULATIONS  

Part I  

General  

18VAC15-40-10. Definitions.  

A. Section 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia provides definitions of the following terms and 

phrases as used in this chapter: 

“Board” 

“Home inspection” 

“Home inspector” 

“Person” 

“Residential building” 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by the context:  

"Adjacent" means structures, grading, drainage, or vegetation adjoining or within three feet 

of the residential building and that may affect the residential building. 

“Applicant” means an individual that has submitted an application for licensure. 

“Application” means a completed, board-prescribed form submitted with the appropriate fee 

and other required documentation. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors.  
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"Certificate holder" means any person holding a valid certificate as a certified home 

inspector issued by the board.  

"Certification" means an authorization issued to an individual by the board to perform 

certified home inspections by meeting the entry requirements established in these regulations.  

"Client" means a person who engages or seeks to engage the services of a certified home 

inspector for the purpose of obtaining an a home inspection of and a written report upon the 

condition of a residential building.  

"Compensation" means the receipt of monetary payment or other valuable consideration for 

services rendered.  

"Component" means a part of a system.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a structured training activity.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an individual or to a member of his 

immediate family. Such interest shall exist by reason of (i) ownership in a business if the 

ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of the business; (ii) annual gross income that 

exceeds or may be reasonably anticipated to exceed $1,000 from ownership in real or personal 

property or a business; (iii) salary, other compensation, fringe benefits, forgiveness of debt, or 

benefits from the use of property, or any combination of it, paid or provided by a business that 

exceeds or may be reasonably expected to exceed $1,000 annually; or (iv) ownership of real or 

personal property if the interest exceeds $1,000 in value and excluding ownership in business, 

income, salary, other compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of property.; (v) 

personal liability incurred or assumed on behalf of a business if the liability exceeds three 

percent of the asset value of the business; or (vi) an option for ownership of a business or real 

or personal property if the ownership interest will consist of clause (i) or (iv) above. 
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"Fireplace" means an interior fire-resistant masonry permanent or prefabricated fixture that 

can be used to burn fuel and is either vented or unvented.  

"Foundation" means the base upon which the structure or a wall rests, usually masonry, 

concrete, or stone, and generally partially underground. element of a structure which connects 

to the ground and transfers loads from the structure to the ground.  Foundations may be shallow 

or deep. 

"Inspect" or "inspection" means to visually examine readily accessible systems and 

components of a building established in this chapter.  

“Licensee” means a home inspector as defined in Chapter 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

“Licensure” means a method of regulation whereby the Commonwealth, through the 

issuance of a license, authorizes a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 

engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is unlawful to practice without such 

license. 

“NRS specialty” means a designation granted by the board to a home inspector that 

authorizes such individual to conduct home inspections on any new residential structure. 

“New residential structure” or “NRS” means a residential structure for which the first 

conveyance of record title to a purchaser has not occurred or the purchaser has not taken 

possession, whichever occurs later.  

"Outbuilding" means any building structure on the property that is more than three feet from 

the residential building and that may affect the residential building that might burn or collapse 

and affect the residential building. 



Draft Text of the Home Inspector Licensing Regulations for Public Comment 
Public Comment Period From 12/1/16 to 1/15/17 

Subject to Board Approval after Consideration of all Public Comments Received 
 
 

4 
 

"Readily accessible" means available for visual inspection access without requiring moving 

of personal property, dismantling, destructive measures, or any action that will likely involve risk 

to persons or property or removing of any obstacles.  

"Reinstatement" means having a certificate restored to effectiveness after the expiration 

date has passed the process and requirements through which an expired license can be made 

valid without the licensee having to apply as a new applicant.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a certificate for another period of time the 

process and requirements for periodically approving the continuance of a license.  

"Residential building structure" means, for the purposes of home inspection, a structure 

consisting of one to four no more than two dwelling units used or occupied, or intended to be 

used or occupied, for residential purposes or a townhouse.  

"Solid fuel burning appliances" means a hearth and fire chamber or similarly prepared place 

in which a fire may be built and that is built in conjunction with a chimney, or a listed assembly 

of a fire chamber, its chimney and related factory-made parts designed for unit assembly 

without requiring field construction.  

"System" means a combination of interacting or interdependent components, assembled to 

carry out one or more functions.  

“Virginia Residential Code” means, for the purposes of this chapter, the provisions of the 

Virginia Construction Code applicable to R-5 residential structures and that includes provisions 

of the International Residential Code as amended by the Virginia Board for Housing and 

Community Development. 

Terms not defined in this chapter have the same definitions as those set forth in § 54.1-500 of 

the Code of Virginia.  
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Part II  

Entry Requirements  

18VAC15-40-20. Necessity for certification licensure.  

A. Any person who holds himself out as or uses the title of "certified home inspector" or 

conducts or offers to provide a "certified home inspection" shall have a current and valid 

certificate issued by the board. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to preclude 

noncertified individuals from performing home inspections for hire provided their conduct is in 

compliance with § 54.1-517.1 of the Code of Virginia. It shall be unlawful for any individual who 

does not possess a license as a home inspector issued by the board to perform a home 

inspection for compensation on a residential building. 

B. A home inspection on a new residential structure shall only be conducted by a home 

inspector with the NRS specialty and who has completed a training module on the Virginia 

Residential Code. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC15-40-25. Application Procedures. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an application with the appropriate fee specified 

in 18VAC15-40-50. Application shall be made on forms provided by the board or its agent. 

By submitting the application to the department, the applicant certifies that the applicant has 

read and understands the applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the board does not indicate approval of 

the application by the board. 
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B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations with respect to the applicant's 

qualifications to confirm or amplify information supplied. All applications shall be completed in 

accordance with the instructions contained herein and on the application. Applications will not 

be considered complete until all required documents are received by the board.  

C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the board's receipt of an initial application if 

the application is incomplete. An individual who fails to complete the application process within 

12 months of receipt of the application in the board's office must submit a new application.  

D. The applicant shall immediately report all changes in information supplied with the 

application, if applicable, prior to issuance of the license or expiration of the application. 

18VAC15-40-30. General requirements Qualifications for certification licensure. 

In addition to the provisions of 18VAC15-40-32, Every every applicant for an individual a home 

inspector certificate license shall have the following qualifications: meet the requirements 

provided in this section.  

1. A. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

B. The applicant shall provide a mailing address. A post office box is only acceptable as a 

mailing address when a physical address is also provided. The mailing address provided shall 

serve as the address of record. 

C. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 

following information: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug 

distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application; and  

2. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-204/
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Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 

The record of conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a 

conviction or finding of guilt.  The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The applicant for licensure shall be in compliance with the standards of conduct and practice 

set forth in Part V (18VAC15-40-140 et seq.) of this chapter at the time of application, while the 

application is under review by the board, and at all times when the license is in effect. 

E. The applicant shall report any suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, certification, 

or registration in connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of discipline in 

any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure.  The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure 

to any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or surrender of licenses based on 

disciplinary action by any jurisdiction.  The applicant has the right to request further review of 

any such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act ( § 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia.) 

F. The applicant for licensure shall submit evidence of having obtained general liability 

insurance with minimum limits of $250,000 per occurrence. A business liability insurance policy 

or a commercial general liability insurance policy with minimum limits of $250,000 may be 

considered to meet such requirement, so long as the applicant is listed as an additional 

insured.  If for any reason the board cannot reasonably ensure that the applicant is sufficiently 

covered in accordance with this subsection, the board may require that requisite coverage be 

obtained in the name of the applicant.  Proof of such insurance policy must be submitted in 

order to obtain the license. 

2. The applicant shall meet the following educational and experience requirements:  

a. High school diploma or equivalent; and  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency48/chapter50/section140/
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b. One of the following:  

(1) Completed 35 contact hours of instruction courses, of which no more than half of the 

required hours may be completed using distance or online education technology, and have 

completed a minimum of 100 home inspections;  

(2) Completed 35 contact hours of instruction courses, of which no more than half of the 

required hours may be completed using distance or online education technology, and have 

completed a minimum of 50 certified home inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 

direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who shall certify the applicant's completion of 

each home inspection and shall be responsible for each home inspection; 

(3) Completed 70 contact hours of instruction courses, of which no more than half of the 

required hours may be completed using distance or online education technology, and have 

completed a minimum of 50 home inspections; or 

(4) Completed 70 contact hours of instruction courses, of which no more than half of the 

required hours may be completed using distance or online education technology, and have 

completed a minimum of 25 certified home inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 

direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who shall certify the applicant's completion of 

each home inspection and shall be responsible for each home inspection. 

Instruction courses shall cover the content areas of the board-approved examinations.  

An applicant who cannot fulfill the instruction course requirement as outlined in this subsection 

may provide documentation of a minimum of 10 years of experience as a home inspector with a 

minimum of 250 home inspections completed in substantial compliance with this chapter to 

satisfy this requirement. The documentation is subject to board review and approval.  

3. The applicant shall have passed a written competency examination approved by the board.  
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4. The board may accept proof of membership in good standing, in a national or state 

professional home inspectors association approved by the board, as satisfaction of subdivisions 

1, subsections 2, and 3 of this section, provided that the requirements for the applicant's class 

of membership in such association are equal to or exceed the requirements established by the 

board for all applicants.  

5. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be 

competent to transact the business of a home inspector in such a manner as to safeguard the 

interests of the public.  

6. The applicant shall disclose whether a certificate or license as a home inspector from any 

jurisdiction where certified or licensed has ever been suspended, revoked or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action or which has been the subject of discipline in any 

jurisdiction prior to applying for certification in Virginia. The board may deny certification to any 

applicant so disciplined after examining the totality of the circumstances.  

7. The applicant shall disclose any conviction or finding of guilt, regardless of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor involving violence, repeat offenses, 

multiple offenses, or crimes that endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Subject to the 

provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if 

the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of residential home inspections. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful authority to 
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issue such order, decree or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt.  

8. Procedures and appropriate conduct established by either the board or any testing service 

administering an examination approved by the board or both shall be followed by the applicant. 

Such procedures shall include any written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of the 

examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board or the testing 

service with regard to conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of the application.  

9. Applicants shall show evidence of having obtained general liability insurance with minimum 

limits of $250,000.  

18VAC15-40-32. Qualifications for licensure. 

A. An applicant for licensure as a home inspector shall furnish documentation acceptable to 

the board that one of the following qualifications for licensure has been met:  

TABLE 1 

  Board-approved pre-

license education 

course contact hours 

Experience Passed the board-

approved examination 

1. 35 Completion of 100 home 

inspections prior to July 1, 2017 

Yes 

2. 35 Completion of 50 home inspections 

under the direct supervision of a 

home inspector 

Yes 
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3. 70 Completion of 50 home inspections 

prior to July 1, 2017 

Yes 

4. 70 Completion of 25 home inspections 

under the direct supervision of a 

home inspector 

Yes 

5. None Verification of 10 years’ experience 

as a home inspector prior to July 1, 

2017, with a minimum of 250 home 

inspections completed during such 

time period 

Yes 

B. Pre-license education courses must be approved by the board pursuant to Part VI of this 

chapter.  No more than half of the required hours may be completed using distance or online 

education technology. 

C.  Verification of home inspections completed under the direct supervision of a home inspector 

must be provided by an individual who was properly licensed or certified by the board during the 

applicable time period. 

D. The National Home Inspector Examination provided by the Examination Board of 

Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI) is the board-approved examination pursuant to § 54.1-

517.2(A)(c) of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-33. Examination conduct. 

Procedures and appropriate conduct established by the board or examination organization 

administering the examination approved by the board, or both, shall be followed by the 

applicant. Such procedures shall include any written instructions communicated prior to the 
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examination date and any instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the 

date of the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board or the 

examination organization with regard to conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial 

of the application.   

18VAC15-40-34. Individuals certified or licensed in another jurisdiction. 

The board may waive the requirements of 18VAC15-40-32 for an applicant who holds an 

active, current license or certificate as a home inspector in another state, the District of 

Columbia, or any other territory or possession of the United States provided the requirements 

and standards under which the license or certificate was issued are substantially equivalent to 

those established in this chapter and related statutes. 

18VAC15-40-35. Qualifications for the NRS specialty. 

In order to obtain the NRS specialty, the applicant shall submit the appropriate application 

form and fee pursuant to 18 VAC 15-40-50, and meet the following qualifications: 

1.  Hold a current and valid home inspector license.  An applicant that does not hold a 

current and valid home inspector license shall apply for such licensure and meet the 

requirements contained in 18 VAC 15-40-30 and 18VAC 15-40-32.   

2.  Submit proof of successful completion of an NRS training module approved by the 

board pursuant to Part VI of this chapter and completed no more than two years prior to 

the date of application. 

18VAC15-40-40. Waiver of the requirements of this chapter. (Repealed.) 

Except as required by law, the board may, in its reasonable discretion, waive any of the 

requirements of this chapter when in its judgment it finds that the waiver in no way lessens the 

protection provided by this chapter and Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia to the public health, 

safety and welfare. The burden of proof that demonstrates continued public protection rests with 
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the individual requesting the waiver. Documents referenced are in effect as they existed as of 

the date the act or action has occurred.   

18VAC15-40-45. Application denial. 

The board may refuse initial certification licensure due to an applicant's failure to comply 

with entry requirements or for any of the reasons it may discipline a regulant licensee.  The 

applicant has the right to request further review of any such action by the board under the 

Administrative Process Act ( § 2.2.-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

18VAC15-40-48. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date on which the fee is received 

by the department or its agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or money 

orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-50. Fees Application fees. 

The application fee for an initial home inspector certification shall be $80. 

Fee type Fee amount When due 

Initial home inspector 

application 

$80 With application for home 

inspector 

Initial NRS specialty 

application 

$80 With application for NRS 

specialty designation 

Home inspector renewal $45 With renewal application 

Home inspector with NRS 

specialty renewal 

$90 With renewal application 

Home inspector reinstatement $125 With reinstatement application 
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Home inspector with NRS 

specialty reinstatement 

$170 With reinstatement application 

Pre-license education course 

approval 

$250 With pre-license education 

course approval application 

NRS training module approval $150 With NRS training module 

approval application 

NRS CPE course approval $150 With NRS CPE course 

approval application 

  

18VAC15-40-52. Renewal and reinstatement fees.(Repealed.) 

Renewal and reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Fee type Fee amount When due 

Renewal 
 

$45   With renewal application 

Late renewal 

 

+ 

=  

$45 

$35 

$80 

(renewal) 

(late fee) 

total fee 

With renewal application 

Reinstatement 

 

+  

=  

$80 

$45 

$125 

(reinstatement) 

(renewal) 

total fee 

With reinstatement application 
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Part III  

Renewal and Reinstatement of Certificate License  

18VAC15-40-60. Renewal required.  

Certificates Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of 

the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the certificate.  

Statutory Authority  

18VAC15-40-70. (Repealed.) 

18VAC15-40-72. Continuing professional education (CPE) required for home inspector 

licensure. 

A. Each certificate holder licensee shall have completed 16 contact hours of continuing 

professional education (CPE) during each certificate license renewal cycle, beginning with the 

certificate renewal cycle that ends April 30, 2013. CPE can be met through classroom 

instruction, distance learning, or online education technology. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 18VAC15-40-75, The the subject matter addressed 

during CPE contact hours shall be limited to the content areas covered by the board's approved 

examination. 

C. The following shall be maintained by the certificate holder to document completion of the 

hours of CPE specified in subsection A of this section: 

1. Evidence of completion that shall contain the name, address, and telephone number 

of the training sponsor; 

2. The dates the applicant participated in the training; 

3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented documenting that it covers the 

content areas covered by the board's examination; and 
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4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of CPE contact hours completed. 

D. Each certificate holder shall maintain evidence of the satisfactory completion of CPE for 

at least three years following the end of the certificate renewal cycle for which the CPE was 

taken. Such documentation shall be in the form required by subsection C of this section and 

shall be provided to the board or its duly authorized agents upon request. 

E. The certificate holder shall not receive CPE credit for the same training course more than 

once during a single certificate renewal cycle. 

F. Distance learning courses that comply with subsection B of this section and provide the 

documentation required by subsection C of this section shall comply with the CPE requirement. 

G. The certificate holder may request additional time to meet the CPE requirement; 

however, CPE hours earned during a certificate renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE requirement of 

the preceding certificate renewal cycle shall be valid only for that preceding certificate renewal 

cycle. 

C. The licensee shall not receive CPE credit for the same training course more than once 

during a single license renewal cycle. 

18VAC15-40-75. Board-approved NRS update CPE course required to maintain NRS 

specialty. 

In addition to the CPE requirements of 18VAC15-40-72, in order to maintain the NRS 

specialty, the licensee shall submit proof of completion of the four-hour, board-approved NRS 

CPE course, which can be applied toward the 16 contact hours of CPE required for the license 

renewal.  
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18VAC15-40-76. CPE for instructors. 

A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course that otherwise meets the 

requirements of this chapter; however, additional credit shall not be given for subsequent 

offerings of a course or activity with the same content within the same licensing cycle. In 

addition, a licensee may receive two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 

cycle for the initial development or substantial updating of a CPE course.  

18VAC15-40-78. Maintenance of CPE records. 

A. Each licensee shall maintain evidence of the satisfactory completion of CPE for at least 

three years following the end of the license renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken. Such 

documentation shall be provided to the board or its duly authorized agents upon request.  The 

following shall be maintained by the licensee to document completion of the hours of CPE 

specified in 18VAC15-40-72: 

1. Evidence of completion that shall contain the name, address, and telephone number 

of the training provider; 

2. The dates the applicant participated in the training; 

3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented documenting that it covers the 

content areas covered by the board's examination; and 

4. A statement from the provider verifying the number of CPE contact hours completed. 

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure compliance with the applicable 

CPE requirements. Licensees who are selected for audit shall provide the necessary 

documentation stipulated in this section. 
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C. The licensee may request additional time to meet the CPE requirement; however, CPE 

hours earned during a license renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE requirement of the preceding 

license renewal cycle shall be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle. 

18VAC15-40-80. Procedures for renewal.  

A. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, The the board shall mail a renewal 

application form notice to the certificate holder licensee’s at the last known home address of 

record. These notices shall outline the procedures for renewal. Failure of the board to mail or of 

the certificate holder to receive these notices does not relieve the certificate holder of the 

obligation to renew.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the certificate license, regulants the licensee 

desiring to renew their his certificate license shall return the renewal application form notice to 

the board, proof of insurance required by 18VAC15-40-30, and together with the appropriate fee 

specified in 18VAC15-40-52 18VAC15-40-50. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, 

a copy of the certificate may be submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal. 

The date on which the fee is received by the department or its agent will determine whether the 

fee is on time. 

C. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, a licensee with the NRS specialty must 

submit proof of completion of four hours of board-approved NRS CPE, in accordance with 

18VAC15-40-75, along with the renewal notice and the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-

40-50. 

D. Failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 

renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the license may be submitted 

with the required fee and any other required documentation as an application for renewal. The 
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date on which the renewal application is received by the department or its agent will determine 

whether the renewal application was received on time. 

C. E. By causing a submitting the renewal application to be sent to the board or its 

authorized agent, the regulant licensee is affirming that the insurance required by 18VAC15-40-

30 continues to be in effect, that the CPE requirements of 18VAC15-40-72 have been met, and 

that he is in continued compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC15-40-85. Late renewal. (Repealed.) 

If the renewal requirements of 18VAC15-40-80 are met more than 30 days but less than six 

months after the expiration date on the certificate, a late renewal fee shall be required as 

established in 18VAC15-40-52. The date on which the renewal application and the required fees 

are actually received by the board or its agent shall determine whether the certificate holder 

must pay the renewal fee only or whether the late renewal fee must be paid.  

18VAC15-40-90. Reinstatement. 

A. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate license, including receipt of the fee by the 

board, as provided in 18 VAC15-40-80, are not completed by the certificate holder licensee 

within six months 30 days after the expiration date noted on on the certificate license, a 

reinstatement fee of the license shall be required. 

B. All applicants for reinstatement shall meet all requirements set forth in 18VAC15-40-30, 

18VAC15-40-72, and 18VAC15-40-80 18VAC15-40-75, as applicable.  

C. A certificate license may be reinstated for up to two years following the expiration date 

with upon submittal of the reinstatement application consisting of: (i) payment of the 

reinstatement fee, (ii) proof of insurance required by 18VAC15-40-30, (iii) proof of CPE in 

accordance with 18VAC15-40-72, and (iv) proof of CPE to maintain the NRS specialty, if 

applicable. After two years, the certificate license shall not be reinstated under any 
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circumstances and the applicant individual shall apply as a new applicant, and meet entry 

requirements current at the time of submittal of the new application. 

D. By submitting the reinstatement application, the individual is affirming that he is continued 

compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC15-40-100. (Repealed.) 

18VAC15-40-105. Status of certificate holder licensee during the period prior to 

reinstatement. 

A. A certificate holder licensee who reinstates his certificate license shall be regarded as 

having been continuously certified licensed without interruption and shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period and shall be held accountable for 

activities during this period.  

B. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the license expiration date may constitute 

unlicensed activity and be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-107. Board discretion to deny renewal or reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license for the same reasons as the 

board may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee.  The licensee has the right to request 

further review of any such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

18VAC15-40-110. (Repealed.) 
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Part IV  

Minimum Standards for Conducting Certified Home Inspections  

18VAC15-40-120. Certified home Home inspection contract.  

A. For the protection of both the client and the certificate holder licensee, both parties shall 

sign a legible written contract clearly specifying the terms, conditions, and limitations and 

exclusions of the work to be performed.  

B. At a minimum, the written contract shall include:  

1. Name, business name (if applicable), business address, and telephone number of the 

certified home inspector.  

2. Certificate License number and expiration date of the certified home inspector, and 

notation of NRS specialty, if applicable.  

3. Name of the clients.  

4. Physical address of the residential properties property to be inspected.  

5. Cost and method of payment of the certified home inspection.  

6. A listing of all areas and systems to be inspected, including those inspections that are 

either partial or limited in scope.  

7. A statement in the contract that the home inspection does not include a review for 

compliance with regulatory requirements (Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code or 

other codes, regulations, laws, ordinances, etc.).  

7. 8. To the extent that any of the following categories are not covered by the home 

inspection, they shall be noted as exclusions in the inspection contract:  

a. The condition of systems or components that are not readily accessible.  

b. The remaining life of any system or component.  
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c. The strength, adequacy, effectiveness, or efficiency of any system or component.  

d. The causes of any condition or deficiency.  

e. The methods, materials, or costs of corrections.  

f. Future conditions including, but not limited to, failure of systems and components.  

g. The suitability of the property for any specialized use.  

h. Compliance with regulatory requirements (codes, including the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, regulations, laws, ordinances, etc.).  

i. h. The market value of the property or its marketability.  

j. i. The advisability of the purchase of the property.  

k. j. The presence of diseases harmful to humans or potentially hazardous plants or 

animals including, but not limited to, wood destroying organisms and mold.  

l. k. The presence of any environmental hazards including, but not limited to, toxins, 

carcinogens, noise, asbestos, lead-based paint, mold, radon, and contaminates in 

soil, water, and air.  

m. l. The effectiveness of any system installed or methods utilized to control or 

remove suspected hazardous substances.  

n. m. The operating costs of systems or components.  

o. n. The acoustical properties of any system or component. 

p. o. The presence of components involved in manufacturer's recalls. 

q. p. The inspection of outbuildings. 

To the extent any other items are not specifically included in the home inspection by 

agreement of the parties, they shall also be noted as exclusions in the home inspection 

contract.  
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8. 9. Expected delivery date to the client of the certified home inspection report.  

9. 10. Dated signatures of both the certified home inspector and the client or the client's 

authorized representative.  

C. The certified home inspection contract shall make written disclosure that the certified 

home inspection report is based upon visual observation of existing conditions of the inspected 

property at the time of the inspection and is not intended to be, or to be construed as, a 

guarantee, warranty, or any form of insurance. This provision does not prevent a home 

inspector from offering a separate guarantee, warranty, or any form of insurance if he so 

chooses. 

D. If the certified home inspector recommends a person to the client for repairs or 

modifications to the inspected property, the certified home inspector shall disclose to the client 

all financial interests that the certified home inspector has with the recommended person. The 

disclosure shall be written within the certified home inspection contract. 

18VAC15-40-130. Certified home Home inspection report. 

A. Certified home Home inspection reports shall contain:  

1. The name, business address and telephone number of the certificate holder as well as his 

certificate number and expiration date;  

1. Information pertaining to the licensee, including but not limited to: 

a. Licensee’s name; 

b. Business address; 

c. Telephone number; and, 

d. License number and expiration date, to be followed by “NRS” if so designated and 

performing a home inspection on a new residential structure. 
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2. The name, address, and telephone number of the client or the client's authorized 

representative, if available at the time of the inspection;  

3. The physical address of the residential properties property inspected; and  

4. The date, time (to include both start and finish times of the home inspection), and 

weather conditions at the time of the certified home inspection.  

B. In conducting a certified home inspection and reporting its findings, the certified home 

inspector, at a minimum, shall inspect the condition of and shall describe in writing the 

composition/characteristics of the following readily accessible components and readily 

observable defects, except as may be limited in the certified home inspection contract 

agreement:  

1. Structural system.  

a. Foundation.  

b. Framing.  

c. Stairs.  

d. Crawl space, the method of inspecting the crawl space shall be noted and 

explained in the home inspection report. If the crawl space cannot be inspected, the 

certificate holder licensee shall explain in the home inspection report why this 

component was not inspected.  

e. Crawl space ventilation and vapor barriers.  

f. Slab floor, when present.  

g. Floors, ceilings, and walls.  

2. Roof structure, attic, and insulation.  
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a. Roof covering. The method of inspecting the roof covering shall be noted and 

explained in the home inspection report. If the roof covering cannot be inspected, the 

certificate holder licensee shall explain in the home inspection report why this 

component was not inspected.  

b. Roof ventilation.  

c. Roof drainage system, to include gutters and downspouts.  

d. Roof flashings, if readily visible.  

e. Skylights, chimneys, and roof penetrations, but not antennae or other roof 

attachments.  

f. Roof framing and sheathing.  

g. Attic, unless area is not readily accessible.  

h. Attic insulation.  

3. Exterior of dwelling residential building or NRS.  

a. Wall covering, flashing, and trim.  

b. Readily accessible doors and windows, but not the operation of associated 

security locks, devices, or systems.  

c. Attached, or adjacent and on the same property, decks, Decks, balconies, stoops, 

steps, porches, attached garages, carports, and any associated railings, that are 

adjacent to the residential building or NRS and on the same property, but not 

associated screening, shutters, awnings, storm windows, detached garages, or 

storm doors.  

d. Eaves, soffitts, and fascias where readily accessible from ground level.  

e. Walkways, grade steps, patios, and driveways, but not fences or privacy walls.  
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f. Vegetation, trees, grading, drainage, and any retaining walls in contact with or 

adjacent to the dwelling that may affect the dwelling residential building or NRS.  

g. Visible exterior portions of chimneys.  

4. Interior of dwelling residential building or NRS.  

a. Readily accessible interior Interior walls, ceilings, and floors of dwelling residential 

building or NRS and any attached or adjacent garage.  

b. Steps, stairways, railings, and balconies and associated railings.  

c. Countertops and installed cabinets, including hardware.  

d. Readily accessible doors Doors and windows, but not the operation of associated 

security locks, devices, or systems.  

e. Garage doors and permanently mounted and installed garage door operators. The 

automatic safety reverse function of garage door openers shall be tested, either by 

physical obstruction as specified by the manufacturer, or by breaking the beam of the 

electronic photo eye but only when the test can be safely performed and will not risk 

damage to the door, the opener, any nearby structure, or any stored items.  

f. Fireplaces, including flues, venting systems, hearths, dampers, and fireboxes, but 

not mantles, fire screens and doors, seals and gaskets.  

g. Solid fuel burning appliances, if applicable.  

5. Plumbing system.  

a. Interior water supply and distribution systems, including water supply lines and all 

fixtures and faucets, but not water conditioning systems or fire sprinkler systems.  

b. Water drainage, waste, and vent systems, including all fixtures.  

c. Drainage sumps, sump pumps, and related piping.  
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d. Water heating equipment, including energy source and related vent systems, 

flues, and chimneys, but not solar water heating systems.  

e. Fuel storage and distribution systems for visible leaks.  

6. Electrical system.  

a. Service drop.  

b. Service entrance conductors, cables, and raceways.  

c. Service equipment and main disconnects.  

d. Service grounding.  

e. Interior components of service panels and sub panels, including feeders.  

f. Conductors.  

g. Overcurrent protection devices.  

h. Readily accessible installed lighting fixtures, switches, and receptacles.  

i. Ground fault circuit interrupters.  

j. Presence or absence of smoke detectors.  

k. Presence of solid conductor aluminum branch circuit wiring. 

l. Arc fault interrupters shall be noted if installed but not tested if equipment is 

attached to them.  

7. Heating system.  

a. Heating equipment, including operating controls, but not heat exchangers, gas 

logs, built-in gas burning appliances, grills, stoves, space heaters, solar heating 

devices, or heating system accessories such as humidifiers, air purifiers, motorized 

dampers, and heat reclaimers.  

b. Energy source.  



Draft Text of the Home Inspector Licensing Regulations for Public Comment 
Public Comment Period From 12/1/16 to 1/15/17 

Subject to Board Approval after Consideration of all Public Comments Received 
 
 

28 
 

c. Heating distribution system.  

d. Vent systems, flues, and chimneys, including dampers.  

8. Air conditioning system.  

a. Central and installed wall air conditioning equipment.  

b. Operating controls, access panels, and covers.  

c. Energy source.  

d. Cooling distribution system.  

C. Systems in the home that are turned off, winterized, or otherwise secured so that they do 

not respond to normal activation using standard operating controls need not be put into 

operating condition. The certified home inspector shall state, in writing, the reason these 

systems or components were not tested inspected. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct and Practice  

18VAC15-40-140. Conflict of interest. 

A. The certificate holder licensee shall not:  

1. Design or perform repairs or modifications to a residential building or NRS on which 

he has performed a certified home inspection as a result of the findings of the certified 

home inspection within 12 months after the date he performed the certified home 

inspection, except in cases where the home inspector purchased the residence after he 

performed the home inspection;  

2. Perform a certified home inspection of a residential building or NRS upon which he 

has designed or performed repairs or modifications within the preceding 12 months 
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without disclosing to the client in the certified home inspection contract the specifics of 

the repairs or modifications he designed or performed;  

3. Refer his client to another person to make repairs or modifications to a residential 

building or NRS on which he has performed a certified home inspection unless, in 

accordance with 18VAC15-40-120 D, he provides written documentation to his client that 

clearly discloses all financial interests that the certificate holder licensee has or 

reasonably expects to have with the person who is recommended for the repairs or 

modifications;  

4. Represent the financial interests, either personally or through his employment, of any 

of the parties to the transfer or sale of a residential building on which he has performed a 

certified home inspection; or 

5. Perform a certified home inspection of a residential building or NRS under a 

contingent agreement whereby any compensation or future referrals are dependent on 

the reported findings or on the sale of the property. 

B. The certificate holder licensee shall not disclose any information concerning the results of 

the certified home inspection without the approval of the client for whom the certified home 

inspection was performed. However, the certificate holder licensee may disclose information in 

situations where there is an imminent endangerment to life or health.  

C. The certificate holder licensee will not accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from 

more than one interested party for the same service on the same property without the consent 

of all interested parties.  

D. The certificate holder licensee shall not accept nor offer commissions or allowances, 

directly or indirectly, from other parties dealing with the client in connection with work for which 

the certificate holder licensee is responsible. Additionally, the certificate holder licensee shall not 
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enter into any financial relationship with any party that may compromise the certificate holder's 

licensee’s commitment to the best interest of his client.  

E. The certified home inspection shall not be used as a pretext by the certificate holder 

licensee to solicit or obtain work in another field, except for additional diagnostic inspections or 

testing.  

18VAC15-40-145. Competency for assignments. 

A. The licensee shall undertake to perform professional assignments only when qualified by 

education or experience, or both.  

B. A licensee shall not misrepresent to a prospective or existing client or employer his 

qualifications and the scope of his responsibility in connection with a home inspection.  

18VAC15-40-150. Grounds for disciplinary action.  

The board has the power to fine any certificate holder and to suspend or revoke any 

certificate issued under the provisions of Chapter 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, and this chapter, where the certificate holder place a licensee on probation, impose 

a monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202(A) of the Code of Virginia, or revoke, 

suspend, or refuse to renew a license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 

cooperated with others in violating any provision of Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia or this chapter.  

18VAC15-40-152. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions against the licensee: 

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, or administrative body of competent 

jurisdiction, including but not limited to any reprimand, license or certificate revocation, 
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suspension or denial, monetary penalty, requirement for remedial education, or other corrective 

action. 

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, certificate, or registration done in connection 

with a disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, regardless of adjudication or deferred 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any   (i.) misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical injury, or relating to performing a home 

inspection, or of any (ii.) felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 

having lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 

of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 30 days of the action. A copy of the 

order or other supporting documentation must accompany the notice. The record of conviction, 

finding, or case decision shall be considered prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of 

guilt.  

18VAC15-40-155. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may result in disciplinary action by the 

board: 

1. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or fraudulent representation.  

2. Performing improvements or repairs to a residential building as a result of the findings 

of the home inspection within 12 months before or after performing a home inspection on 

it, except in cases where the home inspector purchased the residential building after he 

performed the home inspection.  
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3. Violating or inducing another person to violate any of the provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, 

or 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. A licensee having been convicted, found guilty, or disciplined in any jurisdiction of any 

offense or violation enumerated in 18VAC15-40-152.  Review of convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days that the licensee was convicted, 

found guilty, or disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated in 

18VAC15-40-152.  

6. Failing to act as a licensee in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the 

public.  

7. Engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct in conducting a home 

inspection.  

8. Having performed a home inspection when not qualified by training or experience to 

competently perform any part of the home inspection. 

9. Failing to maintain, through training, the proficiency to perform Virginia home 

inspections. 

10. Conducting a home inspection on any new residential structure without the NRS 

specialty issued by the board. 

11. Failing to maintain the insurance policy required pursuant to 18VAC15-40-30.F. 

12. Failing to report a change pursuant to 18VAC15-40-160. 

13. Having cited, stated, or represented that there exists a violation of the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code in a home inspection report or other document 

prepared relative to a home inspection. 



Draft Text of the Home Inspector Licensing Regulations for Public Comment 
Public Comment Period From 12/1/16 to 1/15/17 

Subject to Board Approval after Consideration of all Public Comments Received 
 
 

33 
 

18VAC15-40-160. Maintenance of certificates licenses, reports, and documentation.  

A. A The certificate holder licensee shall at all times keep the board informed of his current 

home physical address. Changes of address shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

calendar days after such change. A physical address is required; a post office box is not 

acceptable. The board shall not be responsible for the certificate holder's licensee’s failure to 

receive notices, communications and correspondence caused by the certificate holder's 

licensee’s failure to promptly notify the board of any change of address.  

B. A The certificate holder licensee shall notify the board in writing of a name change within 

30 calendar days of any change in the certificate holder's licensee’s legal name. Such 

notification shall be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate license, divorce decree, 

court order or other documentation that verifies the name change.  

C. A The certificate holder licensee shall retain all records pertaining to certified home 

inspections performed to include, but not limited to, written reports and supporting 

documentation for a period of three years from the date of the related certified home inspection.  

D. The licensee shall report the cancellation, amendment, expiration, or any other change of 

the insurance policy submitted in accordance with 18VAC15-40-30.F within 30 days of the 

change. 

18VAC15-40-170. Provision of records to the board. (Repealed.) 

A certificate holder shall, upon demand, produce to the board or any of its agents any 

written reports and supporting documentation concerning any certified home inspection in which 

the certificate holder was involved, or for which the certificate holder is required to maintain 

records for inspection and copying by the board or its agents.  
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18VAC15-40-180. Response to inquiry of the board.  

A certificate holder shall respond to an inquiry from the board or any of its agents within 15 

business days.  

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by the board or any of its agents 

regarding any complaint filed with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the board shall produce to the board 

or any of its agents within 10 days of the request any document, book, or record concerning any 

transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the licensee was involved, or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon a showing 

of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-day period. 

C. A licensee shall not provide a false, misleading, or incomplete response to the board or any 

of its agents seeking information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A and B of this section, a licensee 

must respond to an inquiry by the board or its agent within 21 days. 

18VAC15-40-190. Unworthiness and incompetence. (Repealed.) 

The following shall constitute unworthy and incompetent conduct and may result in 

disciplinary action by the board:  

1. Obtaining a certificate by false or fraudulent representation.  

2. Performing improvements or repairs to a residential building as a result of the findings 

of the certified home inspection within 12 months before or after performing a certified 

home inspection on it, except in cases where the home inspector purchased the 

residential building after he performed the inspection.  
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3. Violating or inducing another person to violate any of the provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, 

or 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, having been convicted 

or found guilty, regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States, of any 

misdemeanor involving violence, repeat offenses, multiple offenses, or crimes that 

endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction 

or guilt.  

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo 

contendere or being convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor involving violence, repeat offenses, 

multiple offenses, or crimes that endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, 

there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

6. Failing to act as a certificate holder in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of 

the public.  

7. Engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct in conducting a certified home 

inspection.  

8. Having been found guilty by the board, an administrative body, or by any court of any 

misrepresentation in the course of performing home inspections.  

9. Having performed a certified home inspection when not qualified by training or 

experience to competently perform any part of the certified home inspection. 
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10. Failing to maintain, through training, the proficiency to perform Virginia certified 

home inspections. 

PART VI. 

APPROVAL OF PRE-LICENSE EDUCATION COURSES, NRS TRAINING MODULE, AND 

NRS CPE 

18VAC15-40-200. Pre-license education courses, NRS training modules, and NRS CPE 

courses generally. 

All pre-license education courses, NRS training modules, and NRS CPE courses proposed for 

the purposes of meeting the requirements of this chapter must be approved by the board. Pre-

license education courses and training modules may be approved retroactively upon request of 

the provider with the application; however, no applicant will receive credit until such approval is 

granted by the board.  

18VAC15-40-210. Approval of pre-license education courses. 

A training provider seeking approval of a pre-license education course shall submit an 

application for pre-license education course approval on a form provided by the board. In 

addition to the appropriate fee provided in 18VAC15-40-50, the application shall include 

but is not limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of pre-license education courses, if established, including dates, times, and 

locations; 

5. Method of delivery; 
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6. Instructor information, including name, license number, if applicable, and a list of 

trade-appropriate designations, as well as a professional resume with a summary of 

teaching experience and subject-matter knowledge and qualifications acceptable to the 

board; 

7. Materials to be provided to students;  

8.  Fees for pre-license education course and materials; and 

9. Training module syllabus. 

18VAC15-40-220. Pre-license education course requirements. 

The syllabus for each type of pre-license education course shall encompass the 

following subject areas, to include methods for identification and inspection, safety 

and maintenance, and standards for material selection and installation procedures, 

as applicable: 

A. Site conditions; 

B. Exterior components of the residential structure; 

C. Structural system elements; 

D. Electrical system elements; 

E. Heating and cooling systems; 

F. Insulation, moisture management systems, and ventilation systems; 

G. Plumbing systems; 

H. Interior components; 

I. Fireplace and chimney systems; 

J. Common permanently installed appliances; 

K. Inspection report requirements; 
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L. Responsibilities to the client, including required contract elements; and 

M. Overview of the board’s regulations. 

18VAC15-40-230. Approval of NRS training modules and NRS CPE. 

A training provider seeking approval of an NRS training module or NRS CPE course shall 

submit an application for NRS training module or NRS CPE course approval on a form provided 

by the board. NRS training modules and NRS CPE can be provided in a classroom 

environment, online, or through distance learning.  In addition to the appropriate fee provided in 

18VAC15-40-50, the application shall include but is not limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Module or CPE course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of training module or CPE course, if established, including dates, times, and 

locations; 

5. Method of delivery; 

6. Instructor information, including name, license number, if applicable, and a list of trade-

appropriate designations, as well as a professional resume with a summary of teaching 

experience and subject-matter knowledge and qualifications acceptable to the board; 

7. Materials to be provided to students;  

8.  Fees for pre-license education course and materials; and 

9. Training module syllabus. 
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18VAC15-40-240. NRS training module requirements. 

A. In order to qualify as an NRS training module under 18VAC15-40-35, the training module 

must include a minimum of eight contact hours and the syllabus shall encompass all of the 

subject areas set forth in subsection B of this section.  

B. The following subject areas as they relate to the Virginia Residential Code shall be 

included in all NRS training modules. The time allocated to each subject area must be sufficient 

to ensure adequate coverage of the subject as determined by the board. 

1. Origin of the Virginia Residential Code. 

a. Overview of Title 36 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. Roles and responsibilities of the Board of Housing and Community Development and the 

Department of Housing and Community Development. 

c. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, Part 1. 

2. Scope of the Virginia Residential Code. 

a. Purpose of the Virginia Residential Code. 

b. Exemptions from the Virginia Residential Code. 

c. Compliance alternatives. 

d. Code official discretion in administration and enforcement of the Virginia Residential 

Code. 

e. Process for amending the Virginia Residential Code. 

f. Code violations and enforcement. 

(1) Statute of limitations. 

(2) Effect of violations. 

g. Examples of code and non-code violations. 
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3. Roles of the building code official and the  home inspector. 

a. Overview of § 36-105 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-250. NRS CPE requirements. 

In order to qualify for NRS CPE for the renewal of home inspector licenses with the NRS 

specialty, the NRS CPE must include a minimum of four contact hours and the syllabus shall 

encompass review of and updates to all of the topic areas listed in 18VAC15-40-240 for an NRS 

training module. 

18VAC15-40-260. Documentation of pre-license education course, NRS training module, 

and NRS CPE completion requirements. 

All pre-license education course, NRS training module, and NRS CPE providers must 

provide each student with a certificate of completion or other documentation that the student 

may use as proof of course or training module completion. Such documentation shall contain 

the contact hours completed, the date(s) of training, and the course identification number 

assigned by the board. 

18VAC15-40-270. Maintenance of records. 

All providers of approved pre-license education courses, NRS training modules, or NRS 

CPE courses must establish and maintain a record for each student. The record shall 

include the student’s name and address, the training module or course name and hours 

attended, the training module or course syllabus or outline, the name or names of the 

instructors, the date of successful completion, and the board’s approved training module 

or course identification number. Records shall be available for inspection during normal 

business hours by authorized representatives of the board. Providers must maintain 

these records for a minimum of five years. 

 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+18VAC15-40-220
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18VAC15-40-280. Reporting of changes. 

Any change in the information provided in 18VAC15-40-210 must be reported to the board 

within 30 days of the change. Any change in information submitted will be reviewed to ensure 

compliance with the provisions of this chapter. 

18VAC15-40-290. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of a pre-license education course, an NRS training 

module, or an NRS CPE course for the following reasons: 

1. The training module or course being offered no longer meets the standards established 

by the board. 

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises its services in a fraudulent or 

deceptive way. 

3. The provider, instructor, or contact person of the provider falsifies any information relating 

to the application for approval, training module or course information, or student records or fails 

to produce records required by 18VAC15-40-270. 

4. A change in the information provided that results in noncompliance with this Part VI. 

5. Failure to comply with 18VAC15-40-280.  

18VAC15-40-300. Board authority to audit approved education courses and training 

modules. 

The board may conduct an audit of any board-approved pre-license education course, NRS 

training module, or NRS CPE course provider to ensure continued compliance with this chapter.  

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+18VAC15-40-210

