DF )

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulatior

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION
Common Interest Community Board | www.dpor.virginia.gov

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE PREPARATION FEES

Condominium Resale Certificates for Condominium Unit Owners’ Associations
Includes Fees Updated January 16, 2018 & Law Changes Effective October 1, 2019

Virginia law requires that when reselling a
unit in a condominium, the unit owner must
provide a potential purchaser with certain
legally required information regarding the
condominium, common elements, and the
unit owners’ association. The Virginia
Condominium Act calls the legally required
information a resale certificate. The resale
certificate must be requested by the seller,
prepared by the condominium unit owners’
association, and delivered to the potential
purchaser.

Because compiling the required documents
involves time, effort, and resources, the law
allows the preparer to assess reasonable
fees, but sets a maximum amount for such
fees.

Condominium unit owners’ associations may
charge fees as established in § 55.1-1990 of
the Condominium Act. (See adjacent table.)

To account for inflation, the law automatically
adjusts the maximum fees applicable to unit
owners’ associations every five years, based
on the U.S. Average Consumer Price Index
(CPI). The General Assembly established the
initial cap amounts in 2008. The current fees
(displayed in bold) are effective as of
January 16, 2018. The next mandatory CPI
adjustment will occur in 2023.

PREPARERS of CONDOMINIUM RESALE
CERTIFICATES are allowed to charge no more
than the following maximum fees for only the
following tasks:

$117.37 for inspection of the unit if authorized in the
declaration and as required to prepare the resale
certificate.

$176.05 for preparation and delivery of the resale
certificate in paper form (for no more than two
copies) OR $146.71 total in electronic form. Only
one fee shall be charged for preparation and delivery
of the resale certificate.

$58.69 for an additional fee to expedite the
inspection, preparation, and delivery of the resale
certificate (if completed within five business days of
the request)—but only if the preparer agrees to do so
(optional at request of seller/agent).

$29.34 for an additional hard copy of the resale
certificate (optional at request of seller/agent).

Actual cost for third-party commercial delivery service
to hand-deliver or overnight the resale certificate
(optional at request of seller/agent).

$58.69 post-closing fee charged to the purchaser
(collected at settlement) to update ownership records
of the unit owners’ association.

$58.69 for pre-settlement updates to the resale
certificate (collected at settlement).

$117.37 for additional inspection of the unit i/
authorized by the declaration (optional at request of
purchaser/agent).
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