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INSTRUCTIONS

The 2011 General Assembly enacted legislation amending significantly residential agency law
(Section 54.1-2130, et. seq. of the Code of Virginia). Most of these changes to residential agency law
go into effect on July 1, 2012.

Because of these significant changes, the law requires all licensees who renew or reinstate an active
salesperson or broker license or who activate an inactive salesperson or broker license from July 1,
2012 through June 30, 2014, to complete a Real Estate Board-approved three-hour course in
Residential Standard Agency (RSA). The three-hour RSA course is required to renew all active
salesperson and broker licenses that expire beginning with the July 31, 2012, expiration date, and
end with the June 30, 2014, expiration date.

Completion of the three-hour RSA course is a one-time only education requirement. This three-hour
course is in addition to the required 24 hours of Continuing Education for Brokers, the required 16
hours of Continuing Education for Salespersons who have renewed their license at least one time
previously, or the required 30 hours of Post License Education for New Salespersons. Approved
RSA courses are listed online here.

However, licensees who submit a notarized affidavit to the Board certifying that they do not practice
residential real estate and shall not do so during the current licensing term shall not be required to
complete the three-hour RSA course.

Attached to these Instructions is the Board’s Residential Standard Agency Continuing Education
Course Waiver Notarized Affidavit Form for licensees to certify they do not practice residential real
estate and shall not do so during the current licensing term. Licensees who fill out, have notarized,
and submit this form to the Board will receive a waiver from having to complete the three-hour RSA
course. Licensees must submit the original signed, notarized and completed form to the Board to
qualify for the RSA course waiver. Copies, faxes or e-mails will not be accepted.

Please contact the Real Estate Board Education Section at 804-367-2406 or
reschool@dpor.virginia.gov with questions about the Residential Standard Agency course.

Attachment: Notarized Affidavit Form
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NOTARIZED AFFIDAVIT FORM

Licensee’s Full Name:

License Number:

License Expiration Date:

State of

County of

l, (Licensee’s Full Name), do
hereby certify that | do not practice residential real estate and shall not do so during this current two-
year licensing term. | understand that providing false or misleading information on this document may
lead to disciplinary action against me in accordance with the Code of Virginia and/or the Real Estate
Board Regulations.

Signed by (Signature of Licensee), this

day of , 2014,

Notary Public & Date Notarized

Please mail this original, notarized, completed form to the following address:

Virginia Real Estate Board
Attn.: Education Section

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, VA 23233
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