
Virginia Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Certification Examination Information 
 

 
The WWWOOSSP Board certification examinations for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators are administered at more than 190 PSI/AMP Assessment Centers geographically 
located throughout the United States. A current listing of PSI/AMP Assessment Centers, including 
addresses and driving directions, may be viewed at www.goAMP.com. The examinations are 
administered by appointment only, Monday through Saturday at 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. 

 
Nondiscrimination Policy 

PSI/AMP does not discriminate among candidates on the basis of age, gender, race, color, religion, 
national origin, disability, marital status or any other protected characteristic. 

 
Special Arrangements for Candidates with Disabilities 

PSI/AMP complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act and strives to ensure that no individual 
with a disability (as defined by the ADA as a person who has a physical or mental impairment that 
substantially limits one or more major life activities, a person who has a history or record of such an 
impairment, or a person who is perceived by others as having such an impairment) is deprived of 
the opportunity to take the examination solely by reason of that disability. PSI/AMP will provide 
reasonable accommodations for candidates with disabilities. Candidates requesting special 
accommodations must call PSI/AMP at 800-345-6559 to schedule their examination. 
 

• Wheelchair access is available at all established Assessment Centers. Candidates must advise 
PSI/AMP at the time of scheduling that wheelchair access is necessary. 

 

• Candidates with visual, sensory, physical or learning disabilities that would prevent them from 
taking the examination under standard conditions may request special accommodations and 
arrangements. 

 

Verification of the disability and a statement of the specific type of assistance needed  MUST BE 
MADE IN WRITING TO PSI/AMP at least 45 calendar days prior to your desired examination date 
by completing the two-page Request for Special Examination Accommodations form. PSI/AMP will 
review the submitted forms and will contact you regarding the decision for accommodations. 

 
Payments 

Waterworks Operators Wastewater Works Operators        

Virginia 

Class  
ABC 

Class  

Virginia Class  ABC 

Class  
2017 

Fees  
# of 

Questions  
Exam 

Length  

6 Custom+ -- -- $79 60 2 hours 

5 VSWS* -- -- $79 50 2 hours 

4 I 4 I $98 100 3 hours 

3 II 3      II $98 100 3 hours 

2 III 2      III $98 100 3 hours 

1 IV 1 IV $98 100 3 hours 

 

 
 

http://www.goamp.com/


After your application information is received by PSI/AMP from the Board, you will receive 
confirmation of eligibility to schedule an examination appointment. The appropriate examination 
administration fee is due at the time of scheduling. Payment to PSI/AMP by credit card (Visa, 
MasterCard, American Express or Discover) may be made by phone or online. 

 

Credit card transactions that are declined will be subject to a $25 handling fee. A certified check or 
money order for the amount due, including the handling fee, must be sent to PSI/AMP to cover 
declined credit card transactions. 
 

To pay for your examination administration fee by company check, cashier’s check or money order 

(personal checks, vouchers and purchase orders are not accepted), complete the examination 

registration form and include your examination administration fee payable to PSI/AMP. Mail to: 

PSI/AMP, 18000 W. 105th St., Olathe, KS 66061-7543. 

 
 

Online Scheduling 

When you receive the email and/or postcard confirming your eligibility to sit for the examination, 
you may schedule an examination appointment online at any time at www.goAMP.com. To use 
this service on our website, follow these easy steps: 

• Go to www.goAMP.com and select “Candidates.” 
• Follow the simple, step-by-step instructions to choose your examination program and 

schedule the examination.  
 
 
Telephone Scheduling 

Call PSI/AMP at 800-345-6559 to schedule an examination appointment. This toll free number 
is answered from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. (Central Time) Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 
7:00 p.m. on Friday and 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday.  

 

If you contact PSI/AMP by  
3:00 p.m. Central Time on… 

Depending on availability, your examination 
may be scheduled beginning… 

Monday Wednesday 

Tuesday Thursday 

Wednesday Friday/Saturday 

Thursday Monday 

Friday Tuesday 

 

Examination Rescheduling 

You may reschedule your examination once at no charge online at www.goAMP.com or by 

calling PSI/AMP at 800-345-6559 at least two business days prior to your scheduled examination 

appointment. The following schedule applies: 

 

If your examination is scheduled on… 

You must contact PSI/AMP by 3:00 p.m. 
Central Time to reschedule the 
examination by the previous… 

Monday Wednesday 

Tuesday Thursday 

Wednesday Friday 

Thursday Monday 

Friday/Saturday Tuesday 
 
 

http://www.goamp.com/
http://www.goamp.com/
http://www.goamp.com/


Missed Appointments 

You will forfeit the examination registration and all fees paid under the following circumstances: 

 You wish to reschedule an examination but fail to contact PSI/AMP at least two business 

days prior to the scheduled testing session. 

 You wish to reschedule a second time. 

 You appear more than 15 minutes late for an examination. 

 You fail to report for an examination appointment. 

 
Inclement Weather/Power Failure/Other Emergency 

In the event of inclement weather or unforeseen emergencies on the day of an examination, 

PSI/AMP will determine whether circumstances warrant the cancellation, and subsequent 

rescheduling, of an examination. The examination will usually not be rescheduled if the Assessment 

Center personnel are able to open the Assessment Center. 

 

You may visit PSI/AMP’s website at www.goAMP.com prior to the examination to determine if 
PSI/AMP has been advised that any Assessment Centers are closed. Every attempt is made to 
administer the examination as scheduled; however, should an examination be canceled at an 
Assessment Center, all scheduled candidates will receive notification following the examination 
regarding rescheduling or reapplication procedures. 

 

If power to an Assessment Center is temporarily interrupted during an administration, your 
examination will be restarted. The responses provided up to the point of interruption will be intact, 
but for security reasons the questions will be scrambled. 
 

Identification 

To gain admission to the Assessment Center, you must present two forms of identification. The 
primary form must be government issued, current and include your name, signature and 
photograph. No form of temporary identification will be accepted. You will also be required to sign 
a roster for verification of identity. 

• Examples of valid primary forms of identification are current: driver's license with 

photograph; state identification card with photograph; passport; military identification card 
with photograph. 

• The secondary form of identification must display your name and signature for signature 

verification (e.g., credit card with signature, social security card with signature, 

employment/student ID card with signature). 

• If your name on your registration is different than it appears on your identification, you must 

bring proof of your name change (e.g., marriage license, divorce decree or court order). 
 

You must have proper identification to gain admission to the Assessment Center. Failure  

to provide appropriate identification at the time of the examination is considered a missed 

appointment. There will be no refund of your testing fee. 
 
Security 

PSI/AMP administration and security standards are designed to ensure all candidates are provided 
the same opportunity to demonstrate their abilities. The Assessment Center is continuously 
monitored by audio and video surveillance equipment for security purposes. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.goamp.com/


The following security procedures apply during the examination: 

• Examinations are proprietary. No cameras, notes, tape recorders, pagers or cellular/smart 
phones are allowed in the testing room. Possession of a cellular/smart phone or other electronic 
devices is strictly prohibited and will result in dismissal from the examination. 

• Only silent, non-programable calculators without alpha keys or printing capabilities are allowed 
in the testing room. 

• No guests, visitors or family members are allowed in the testing room or reception areas. 

• Candidates may be subjected to a metal detection scan upon entering the examination room. 

 
Personal Belongings 

No personal items, valuables, or weapons should be brought to the Assessment Center. Only 
wallets and keys are permitted. Coats must be left outside the testing room. You will be provided a 
soft locker to store your wallet and/or keys with you in the testing room. The proctor will lock the 
soft locker prior to you entering the testing room. You will not have access to these items until after 
the examination is completed. Please note the following items will not be allowed in the testing 
room except securely locked in the soft locker: 

• watches  

• hats 

• wallets 

• keys 
 

Once you have placed your personal belongings into the soft locker, you will be asked to pull out 
your pockets to ensure they are empty. If all personal items will not fit in the soft locker you will not 
be able to test. The site will not store or be responsible for your personal belongings. 
 

If any personal items are observed or heard (e.g., cellular/smart phones, alarms) in the testing 
room after the examination is started, the administration will be forfeited. 
 

Examination Restrictions 

• Pencils and ABC’s standard formula sheet will be provided during check-in. 

• You will be provided with one piece of scratch paper at a time to use during the examination, 
unless noted on the sign-in roster for a particular candidate. You must return the scratch paper 
to the proctor at the completion of testing, or you will not receive your score report. 

• No documents or notes of any kind may be removed from the Assessment Center. 

• No questions concerning the content of the examination may be asked during the examination. 

• Eating, drinking or smoking is not permitted in the Assessment Center. 

• You may take a break whenever you wish, but you will not be allowed additional time to 
make up for time lost during breaks. 

 
Misconduct 

If you engage in any of the following conduct during the examination you may be dismissed, 
your scores will not be reported and examination fees will not be refunded. Examples of 
misconduct are when you: 

• create a disturbance, are abusive, or otherwise uncooperative 

• display and/or use electronic devices such as pagers, cellular/smart phones 

• talk or participate in conversation with other examination candidates 

• give or receive help or are suspected of doing so 



• leave the Assessment Center during the administration 

• attempt to record examination questions or make notes 

• attempt to take the examination for someone else 

• are observed with personal belongings, notes, books or other aids without it being noted on 
the roster 

 
Computer Login 

After your identification has been confirmed, you will be directed to a testing carrel. You will be 
instructed on-screen to enter your identification number. You will take your photograph which will 
remain on-screen throughout your examination session. This photograph will also print on your 
score report. 
 

Practice Examination 

Prior to attempting the examination, you will be given the opportunity to practice taking an 
examination on the computer. The time you use for this practice examination is NOT counted as part 
of your examination time or score. When you are comfortable with the computer testing process, you 
may quit the practice session and begin the timed examination. 
 

Taking the Examination 

Report to the Assessment Center no later than your scheduled appointment time. Look for signs 
indicating PSI/AMP Assessment Center check-in. If you arrive more than 15 minutes after the 
scheduled testing time you will not be admitted. You may bring a non-programmable calculator to 
the examination. Calculators with printing capabilities, full alpha keypads or built into cellular/smart 
phones or electronic devices are not permitted in the Assessment Center. 

 
Before beginning the examination, instructions for taking the examination are provided on- 
screen. The computer monitors the time you spend on the examination. The examination will 
terminate if you exceed the time allowed. You may click on the “Time” box in the lower menu bar 
on the screen to monitor your time. A digital clock indicates the time remaining for you to 
complete the examination. The Time feature may be turned off during the examination. 
 

Only one examination question is presented at a time. The question number appears in the lower 
right portion of the screen. Choices of answers to the examination question are identified as A, B, C, 
or D. You must indicate your choice by either typing in the letter in the response box in the lower left 
portion of the computer screen or clicking on the option using the mouse. To change your answer, 
enter a different option by typing in the letter in the response box or by clicking on the option using 
the mouse. You may change your answer as many times as you wish during the examination time 
limit. 
 

To move to the next question, click on the forward arrow (>) in the lower right portion of the screen. 
This action will move you forward through the examination question by question. If you wish to 
review any question or questions, click the backward arrow (<) or use the left arrow key to move 
backward through the examination. 
 

An examination question may be left unanswered for return later in the examination session. 
Questions may also be bookmarked for later review by clicking in the blank square to the right of the 
Time button. Click on the hand icon to advance to the next unanswered or bookmarked question on 
the examination. To identify all unanswered and bookmarked questions, repeatedly click on the hand 
icon. When the examination is completed, the number of examination questions answered is 
reported. If not all questions have been answered and there is time remaining, return to the 
examination and answer those questions. 

 



Candidate Comments 

During the examination, you may make comments for any question by clicking on the button 
displaying an exclamation point (!) to the left of the Time button. This opens a dialogue box where 
comments may be entered. Comments will be reviewed, but individual responses will not be 
provided. 
 

Following the Examination 

After completing the examination, you are asked to answer a short evaluation of your examination 
experience. Then, you are instructed to report to the examination proctor to receive a diagnostic 
score report.  

 

There will be a 10-day wait period to retake a failed examination for Waterworks & Wastewater 
Works Operator Classes 1-4. There will be a 30-day wait period to retake a failed examination for 
Classes 5 and 6. 

 

You will be eligible to retake a failed examination throughout your 1-year eligibility window by 
paying the examination administration fee directly to PSI/AMP. You may call or go online to 
schedule a retake as soon as 24 hours after a failed examination attempt, but availability will be 
restricted to dates after the applicable wait period. 

 

Failing to Report for an Examination 

If you fail to report for an examination, you will forfeit all fees paid to take the examination. A new 
examination administration fee will be required to schedule another examination appointment. 

 

Confidentiality 

Information about candidates for testing and their examination results are considered confidential. 
Studies and reports concerning candidates will contain no information identifiable with any 
candidate, unless authorized by the candidate. 
 
Duplicate Score Report 

Requests for a duplicate score report must be made in writing to PSI/AMP within one year of the 
examination date along with a fee of $25 payable to PSI/AMP by check or money order. Duplicate 
score reports will be processed and mailed within approximately five business days following 
receipt of the request.  


