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Office of the Comptroller 15 Commonwealth of Virginia 

Fee for Garnishments, Support Orders and Tax Lien 
Deductions 

  
Background The Code of Virginia provides for the assessment of fees to be paid by both 

full time and part-time employees for the costs of collection of garnishments, 
tax liens, and child support orders.  Executive Branch agencies must collect 
these fees as follows: 
  

Code of Virginia Collection Fee Frequency 
§ 8.01-512.2 Garnishment     $10.00 once per summons 
§ 63.1-256 Child Support   $  5.00 

for employees 
physically working in 
Virginia; otherwise, 
based on the state 
where the employee 
works 

per remittance/per order 

§ 58.1-1804 Tax Lien            $20.00 once per tax lien 

   
Guidelines Fees are imposed on the employee’s disposable income (gross wages less 

deductions required by law) after the court-ordered deduction but before any 
voluntary deductions (i.e., health care or flexible spending accounts). 
 
Note: The combined child support amount and fee may not exceed the 
maximum limit applied to disposable earnings as established by Code of 
Virginia (§ 34-29) and the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) (15 
U.S.C. 1673(b)).  If the employee’s disposable income is not sufficient to 
deduct the fee during the pay period the court order is initiated, then: 
 

 support order fees are waived, 
 fees for garnishments and tax liens must be collected when funds 

become available. 

  
Multiple 
Orders 

In the event you have a child support order in combination with a garnishment 
or tax lien, you may do a SPOT transaction to add the appropriate fee to the 
regularly collected support order fee.  See CAPP Topic No. 50605, Tax and 

Deduction Overrides.   

Continued on next page 
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Court Orders 
Served But Not 
Processed 

If an agency is served with a court ordered withholding for a garnishment or 
tax lien which is subsequently resolved, prior to payroll processing, the agency 
is still obligated to assess the garnishment fee. 

  
Fee Exemptions Fees should not be collected on the following court ordered withholdings; 

bankruptcy, IRS federal tax levies, local and county tax liens. 
 
 

Out-of-State 
Support Orders 

Out-of-state support orders with an administrative (garnishment) fee different 
from Virginia do not override the required assessment. 
______________________________________________________________ 

 

Garnishment Reports 

 
RPY146, 
Deduction 
Register 

Since garnishment and garnishment fee deductions are general deductions, 
agencies can use the RPY146, Deduction Register, to review employee 
deductions to ensure that amounts are what is expected. 
 

 

 
RPY445, EE 
Child Support 
without Adm 
Fees 

Child support collection fees are due with every remittance of a child support 
payment.  Therefore, when there is an active child support deduction, there 
should always be an active Garnishment Fee (GRNFEE) deduction present. 
 
Agencies can run RPY445, EE Child Support without Adm Fees, to ensure 
that all child support deductions have a corresponding garnishment fee. 
 
The report will show a list of employees that have an active child support 
deduction without a GRNFEE deduction. 

 

 

  


