School Application Detailed Instructions

Contents

Subn	Submission Requirements2	
Do	You Have To Apply For A License	2
W	hen and Where Should You File	2
	anges to the curriculum, hours, course outline, program length, on-line instruction, location,	
	xtbook, etc	
W	hat Documents Must Be Included	2
	nstructions for the School Application	
	ense Type	
Qu	estion 1 – Are you currently licensed?	3
Qu	estion 2 – School Business Entity/Sole Proprietor Name	3
Qu	estion 3 – Trade, "Doing Business As" (DBA), or Fictitious Name of School	3
Qu	estion 4 – Type of Business Entity	4
Qu	estion 5 – FEIN, Social Security Number, or DMV Control Number	4
Qu	estion 6 – Mailing Address	4
Qu	estion 7 – Street Address	4
Qu	estion 8 – Contact Numbers	4
Qu	estion 9 – Email Address	4
Qu	estion 10 – Responsible Management	5
Qu	estion 11– Check "yes" if your school will provide online instruction for theory topics only	5
Qu	estion 12 – Does the School Receive Compensation from the Public	5
Qu	estion 13 – Instructor Information	6
Question 14 – Disclose Prior Disciplinary Action		6
Qu	estion 15 – Disclose Prior License Denial	6
Qu	estion 16 – Disclose Felony and Misdemeanor Convictions	7
Qu	estion 17 – Certifying Statements and Signature	7
Impo	Important Curriculum Package Instructions7	
1.	Course syllabus	7
2.	Detailed Course Outline	8
3.	Performances	8
Th	The performances shall include the minimum requirements listed in the regulations	
4.	Sample five lesson plans	8
5.	Sample evaluation methods to be used	9
6.	Example of the method by which performance will be recorded	9
7.	Sketch of the school floor plan	9
8.	Days and hours of operation	9
9.	An example of a test you will administer to students	9
10	Esthetics schools	9
11	Competency Programs	10

Submission Requirements

Do You Have To Apply For A License

The Code of Virginia requires that schools offering instruction in the licensed activity and teaching a board approved curriculum must be licensed. If you are offering instruction in the fields of barber, cosmetology, nail technician, wax technician, esthetics, tattooing, or permanent cosmetic tattooing, with the purpose of teaching students the skills necessary to become licensed, you must obtain a school license.

When and Where Should You File

Schools should submit their curriculum at least 60 days prior to their expected start date. The application review process can take up to 60 days. The review process may take longer if the Board determines after initial review that the application is incomplete.

Applications should be submitted to the Board at:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233

Changes to the curriculum, hours, course outline, program length, on-line instruction, location, textbook, etc.

18VAC41-20-200.A.5 requires schools to submit all changes to the school curricula to the Board. Schools can submit an updated curriculum to the Board's school email address: rr-bchopschoolroster@dpor.virginia.gov

What Documents Must Be Included

In order to have a complete application, you must submit the following items:

- A completed School License Application,
- The appropriate license fee as indicated on the application, and
- Supporting curriculum documentation listed on page 4 of the application. (Detailed instructions are included in the Instruction packet.)

Be sure the application submitted is the current version of the School License Application. The current application can be downloaded from the Board's website at http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/BarberCosmo/, under Forms and Applications.

Any questions regarding the application or support documentation can be sent to <u>bchoplicensing@dpor.virginia.gov</u>, or speak with a Licensing Specialist at (804) 367-8509.

Instructions for the School Application

License Type

Mark the box of the type of license you are seeking.

Question 1 – Are you currently licensed?

Mark "No" If you are opening a new school, or if an existing school is opening another location.

Mark "Yes" If you currently hold a school license and are adding an additional program to an existing license at the same location. Fill in the Virginia License Number for the existing school along with the expiration date.

For example, if you currently hold a license for a Cosmetology school and are adding a Nail Technician Program, you would mark "Yes" and provide your Cosmetology school license number and expiration date.

Question 2 – School Business Entity/Sole Proprietor Name

This question is asking for the name of the legal business entity which will operate the school. This will depend on your legal entity type.

- If you are opening the school under a **Sole Proprietorship**, please fill in your full name (first, middle, and last name).
- If you are opening a school under a **General Partnership**, please fill in the names of the partners.
- If you are opening the school under a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited **Partnership**, please fill in the name of the Business entity with the appropriate organization (Inc., LLC, LP). This name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC).
- If you are opening a different business type than listed, indicate the type of entity registered with the SCC.

Question 3 – Trade, "Doing Business As" (DBA), or Fictitious Name of School

This question is asking for the name you wish to operate under, if different from your legal entity name. DBA (Doing Business As) or fictitious name must identify itself as a teaching institution in its name. For example, a fictitious name could have "School", "Institute", "Academy", etc.

- If opening the school under a **Sole Proprietorship or General Partnership**, you must submit a copy of the Certificate of Fictitious name filed with the Clerk of the Court in the locality where business will be conducted.
- If opening the school under a **Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited Partnership**, your business/trade name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC). The State Corporation can be contacted at (804) 371-9733.

Please keep in mind that if you are a **Corporation or Limited Liability Company**, state law requires that your legal name indicate so. If you intend to operate without that designation, you must obtain a

fictitious name from the SCC. For example, if a school is registered with the SCC as "Donald's Barber School, Inc.", it must obtain a fictitious name from the SCC if it wishes to operate without the "Inc." in its name. So, in order to operate as "Donald's Barber School", Barber School, Inc. must have the fictitious name "Donald's Barber School" registered with the SCC. Applications that do not meet this requirement will not be processed.

Question 4 – Type of Business Entity

Please select **ONE** type of business entity. If the business is registered with the SCC, please provide the State Corporation Commission Number in Question 4.B. Your business entity selection must match the information you provided in Question 2, and must match the type registered with the clerk of court or SCC.

Question 5 - FEIN, Social Security Number, or DMV Control Number

If the school is opening under a **general partnership**, **corporation**, **limited liability company**, **or limited partnership**, provide a Business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). This number can be obtained from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and can be obtained online on the IRS website. A social security number will not be accepted for these types of entities.

If the school is opening under a **Sole Proprietorship**, provide Sole Proprietor's social security number or Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Control Number (VA Driver's License or Identification card number).

Question 6 – Mailing Address

Provide a mailing address. This is where all Board correspondence, including the license, will be mailed. P.O. Boxes are accepted. This address will be the address printed on the license.

If street address is the same as the mailing address, check box next to "Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above." Do **not** check this box if you provided a P.O. Box.

Question 7 – Street Address

If street address is different from mailing address, provide a street address. You must provide the actual physical location of the school for this question. If a P.O. Box was provided as the mailing address, a physical (street) address must be provided.

Question 8 – Contact Numbers

Provide a primary telephone number that you can be reached. You may also provide an alternate telephone number and fax number if you wish to do so.

Question 9 – Email Address

Provide a valid email address that can be used for contact purposes and could become available to third parties if requested. This is a requirement for schools per Student Roster submission Guidance Document.

Question 10 – Responsible Management

Provide Name (first, middle, last), Title, Address, Birthdate, and Social Security Number or VA DMV Control Number information for each member of Responsible Management. Responsible Management are the individuals who are responsible for the operations of your school. The regulations identify Responsible Management for different types of entities:

- 1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;
- 2. The partners of a general partnership;
- 3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;
- 4. The officers of a corporation;
- 5. The managers of a limited liability company;
- 6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and
- 7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm.

Question 11– Check "yes" if your school will provide online instruction for theory topics only.

*Please reference the guidance document on VA Townhall website

Check no if your school does not provide the theory instruction online.

If your school provides the theory instruction online, please specify the subject areas that are taught online. State whether your online instruction is asynchronous or synchronous. If asynchronous, state how the hours are measured for each student. Provide the online platform you are using to verify the identity of distance-learning students who participate in class or coursework (such as a secure login and pass code) while protecting student privacy.

Question 12 – Does the School Receive Compensation from the Public

If your school will be providing services to the public for compensation, mark "Yes" and provide the Virginia salon, shop, spa, or parlor license number and expiration date. Compensation includes payments, tips, gratuities, or any in-kind value in exchange for services provided at the school or by its students.

If you plan on providing services to the public for compensation, but you do not have a salon, shop, spa, or parlor license, you must apply for a license with the Board. You can find the application on the Board's website, <u>www.dpor.virginia.gov/boards/barbercosmo</u>. It may take several weeks for salon, shop, spa, or parlor license to be issue. Be sure to indicate on the application that you have an "application pending" instead of providing the license number.

Question 13 – Instructor Information

List each instructor that will be employed by the school. Include their full name (as it appears on his or her license), license type, Virginia DPOR License Number, and have them sign this section. Your school must have licensed instructors in the profession that it will be teaching, as indicated below.

- Barber Schools must have licensed Barber Teachers.
- Cosmetology Schools must have licensed Cosmetology Instructors.
- Nail Technician Schools must have licensed Nail Technician Instructors or Cosmetology Instructors.
- Wax Technician schools must have licensed Wax Technician Instructors or Cosmetology Instructors.
- Esthetics Schools must have licensed Esthetician Instructors or Master Esthetics Instructors.
- Master Esthetics Schools must have licensed Master Esthetics Instructors.
- Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Schools must have certified Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Instructors.
- Tattooing Schools must have certified Tattooing Instructors.

*The Board will verify the employment of instructors. Instructor's should check their emails for correspondence from the Board.

Question 14 – Disclose Prior Disciplinary Action

Indicate if disciplinary action has ever been taken against the school or any responsible management in any local, state, or national regulatory board (including Virginia.) This would include any disciplinary action taken against a professional license by any regulatory board or agency. Completed the Disciplinary Action Reporting form and provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency who issued the order, decree, or case decision.

Question 15 – Disclose Prior License Denial

If the school and any responsible management **have had** an application, certification, or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, bodypiercing, or tattooing <u>denied</u> by **ANY** local, state, or national regulatory board, check yes and provide that required documentation. Complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form and provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency who issued the order, decree, or case decision.

Question 16 – Disclose Felony and Misdemeanor Convictions

Mark "No" if the salon, shop, spa or parlor and any responsible management **have not** been convicted of a felony within the last 20 years, or a misdemeanor conviction in the last two years.

If the salon, shop, spa or parlor or any responsible management **have ever been** convicted of a felony within the last 20 years, or a misdemeanor conviction in the last two years, or have pleaded guilty or nolo contendere, mark "Yes", complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting form and attach an original State Police criminal history record from the state(s) where convicted. You must provide an original official criminal history record from each state in which there are convictions.

A conviction is not an automatic bar to licensure. Certain convictions may require Board review through the Informal Fact-Finding process. You can find out more about this process on the Board's website at <u>www.dpor.virginia.gov</u>.

Question 17 – Certifying Statements and Signature

Each member of responsible management must sign attesting to the certifying statements. Every member of responsible management listed on Question 10 must sign in this section.

The responsible management title must match the title listed in the table on question 10

Important Curriculum Package Instructions

In addition to the School License Application, you are required to submit a curriculum including, but not limited to, the information listed below. Applications lacking the required information will be considered incomplete and may take significantly more time to process. Should you have any questions or require additional clarification, contact the board staff at (804) 367-8509

*PHOTOCOPIES OF OUTLINES, GLOSSARIES AND OTHER INFORMATION FROM TEXTS AND BOARD REGULATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED

1. Course syllabus

The course syllabus should contain an outline and brief statement of main points of the text, lecture, and course of study. Include the name of the textbook, online instruction (if provided), and the length of the program. Length of program may be split into Full Time and Part Time schedules. Full time and part time students cannot be taught simultaneously. Course syllabus should also include your school policies, including graduation requirements, course length, grading scale, etc.

Include the Days and hours of operations with your program length.

This must include a list of holidays and other special dates that the school will be closed. List each individually (New Year's Day, Fourth of July, Winter Break, etc.) Be aware that hours of operation must be enough to complete the program in the length of time that is outlined in the syllabus.

2. Detailed Course Outline

The outline shall include the requirements listed the *Board for Barbers and Cosmetology Regulations, Tattooing Regulations* and *Esthetics Regulations*. Be sure that all required courses from the regulations are listed along with their required hours (if noted in regulations.) Course listings must be the same in every part of the packet where they are listed, such as lesson plans and outlines. Provide the specific hours allotted to each course in your detailed course outline, as well as the required performances.

3. Performances

The performances shall include the minimum requirements listed in the regulations.

4. Sample five lesson plans

The lesson plans must be actual lessons that will be used in the instruction of students. Previously approved plans from other schools will not be accepted. You must submit lesson plans developed for your curriculum. Pre-developed lesson plans provided with the textbook are acceptable.

- Lesson plans should be for specific profession related courses, not general courses. General courses are as follows:
 - Orientation
 - o School Policies
 - o State Laws and Regulations
 - Health and Safety
 - Personal Hygiene
 - Sanitation and sterilization
 - o Ethics
 - o Salon/Shop/Parlor management
 - o Anatomy
 - o Client Consultation
 - Care of Equipment
- Class materials must be identified and reasonable for type of course. Examples would be pencil, paper, computers, combs, nail file, etc.
- The lesson plan should indicate how course will be taught and detail what information will be included in actual lesson.
- Indicate what instructional tools will be utilized such as PowerPoint presentations, videos, handouts, etc.
- The lesson plans should also indicate the duration of the lesson.

5. Sample evaluation methods to be used

Explain and provide examples of how students will be evaluated for grading and progress report purposes. In addition, include sample evaluations for recording <u>both the written and practical</u> <u>portions</u> of the program. The document should have the following: student name, student signature and topic (s) being evaluated. The topics must match the topics listed in your detailed course outline.

6. Example of the method by which performance will be recorded

Board regulations require that your curriculum contain a certain number of performances that each student must complete. For example, the cosmetology regulations require 10 hair and scalp treatments, 320 Hair Styling, etc. Your school must have a way to track each student's completion of these required performances, in order to ensure they perform the required amount. Provide an example of how you intend to record the performances. Include a place for the student name and signature.

7. Sketch of the school floor plan

Provide a sketch of the floor plan of your physical location. This sketch must include the classroom and clinic areas within the school. The classroom and clinic areas in the school must be separated by a wall.

If you have not yet leased or purchased a facility, you may submit the floor plans from your prospective location. However, if you change your location you must notify the Board and receive approval from the Board. Your notice should include a change of address form and a new sketch of the school floor plan. This is also the case after you receive the license.

8. Days and hours of operation

This must include a list of holidays and other special dates that the school will be closed. List each individually (New Year's Day, Fourth of July, Winter Break, etc.) Be aware that hours of operation must be enough to complete the program in the length of time that is outlined in the syllabus.

9. An example of a test you will administer to students

The test must consist of a minimum of 25 questions. The test can be in whatever format you choose (multiple choice, written response, true or false, etc.) The test questions must match the program of study, and the test topic must also be indicated in the course outline. Submit an answer key with the test.

10. Esthetics schools

Must also provide a list of equipment as required by 18 VAC 41-70-210. There are separate equipment lists for esthetics and master esthetics programs.

11. Competency Programs

Schools must apply to accept transfer students by submitting a transfer policy in accordance with 18VAC41-20-210.G, 18VAC41-50-280.C., 18VAC41-50-360.D. and 18VAC41-70-190.D. Schools must have a Board approved competency program. Schools must submit their transfer policy and an examination used in making the assessment. The examination must be at least 100 questions and include an answer key. <u>All schools (including accredited schools)</u> <u>must meet the new regulatory requirements.</u>