Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400

Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 J ‘ J d

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
(804) 367-8509 P P s

www.dpor.virginia.gov Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION
A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA,
or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package.
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
»  Ifyou do not hold a current license/certificate in another state or jurisdiction, this application cannot be processed.

> A Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days) is required to obtain licensure.
Select one license type you are requesting:

Practitioner License Type Instructor Type
Trans Fee $105.00 X | Trans Fee $125.00
1021 | 1301- Barber License (1] 5021 | 1301- Barber adding Instructor Certificate
1026 | 1301- Master Barber License [11]5026 | 1301- Master Barber adding Instructor Certificate
1021 | 1201- Cosmetology License 1] 1021 | 1204- Cosmetology Instructor Certificate *
1021 | 1206- Nail Technician License [ 1021 | 1207- Nail Technician Instructor Certificate
1021 | 1214- Wax Technician License []11021 | 1215- Wax Technician Instructor Certificate

1021 | 1231- Tattooer License

1021 | 1236- Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Lic.

1021 | 1237- Master Perm. Cosmetic Tattooer Lic.

1021 | 1241- Body Piercer License

1021 | 1261- Esthetician License

1021 | 1264- Master Esthetician License

* An individual holding a Cosmetology Instructor Certificate may teach a nail technician and wax technician program without
obtaining a separate Nail Technician Instructor or Wax Technician Instructor Certificate.

1. Are you applying for an Instructor certificate or have you been previously licensed in Virginia as a barber, master
barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, body piercer, esthetician, master esthetician, tattooer, permanent
cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer?

No []

Yes [ ] Ifyes, provide your Virginia license number and expiration date:

Ogiooo| oo boo/mg) =

VA License Number Expiration Date

2. Full Legal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)

Last (required) First (required) Middle Generation

3. Provide at least one of the following identification numbers™:
] Social Security Number and/or - -

(] Virginia DMV Control Number

»  Enter the same identification number as used on examination, previous applications or licenses on file with the department.

*  State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

4. Date of Birth

MM/DD/YYYY

5. Maiden or Former Name(s)

OFFICE DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

onty 1021
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6. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)

The mailing address will be
printed on the license.

City State Zip Code
7. Street Address (PO Box not accepted) [] Checkhere if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above.
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

City State Zip Code
8. Contact Numbers

Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax

9. Email Address

Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.

10. Do you hold a current barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, body piercer, esthetician,
master esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, certification
or registration issued by any state or territory of the United States (excluding Virginia)?

No [] Ifno, this application cannot be processed. Complete the Exam & License application.
Yes [ ] Ifyes, complete the following questions:

A. List the following state/jurisdiction where a license, certification or registration has been issued: (List all
current and expired professional types listed above.)

License, Certification or

Registration Number Expiration Date

Professional Type State/Jurisdiction

B. Are you in good standing as a licensed, certified, or registered professional for the states/jurisdictions
listed in question 10.A?

Yes []

No [] If no, provide an original Certification of Licensure®(dated within the last 60 days) from
each state/jurisdiction where you are not in good standing.

¢ (Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the
license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of
obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all
closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485

11. Have you successfully completed an examination to become a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician,
wax technician, body piercer, esthetician, master esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master
permanent cosmetic tattooer for the states/jurisdictions listed in question 10.A?

No [] Ifno, you do not qualify by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application.

Yes [ If yes, provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing”(dated within the last 60 days)
prepared by the state board or regulatory body where you successfully passed an examination.

* (Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/
registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam,
reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation
or undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485
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12. Are you applying to become a body piercer, esthetician, master esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic
tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer?

No  [] Ifno, proceed to the next question.

Yes [ ] If yes, have you successfully completed a training program or an apprenticeship program in any
state or jurisdiction of the United States?

No [] Ifno,you do not qualify by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application.
Yes [] If yes, provide the following information and provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of

Good Standing (dated within the last 60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory
body where the training/program was completed**:

Select the one license type you are requesting:

+
(" Body Piercer -Total number of apprenticeship hours completed

+ If the apprenticeship program was less than 1200 hours, you do not qualify by endorsement.
Complete the Exam and License Application.

+
(" Esthetician/Master Esthetician -Total number of training hours completed :

+ I the training was less than 480 hours, you do not qualify by endorsement. Complete the Exam
and License Application.

(" Tattooer/Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer -Total number of training hours completed+:

+ If the training was less than 1200 hours, you do not qualify by endorsement. Complete the Exam
and License Application.

+
(" Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer -Total number of training hours completed :

+ If the training was less than 72 hours (onsite training only), you do not qualify by endorsement.
Complete the Exam and License Application.

If the state/jurisdiction does not verify total hours for training, the Board will require a transcript from the training provider/training
program.

*%

+ Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/
registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity,
etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or
undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485
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13.  Are you applying to become a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician?
No [] Ifno, proceed to the next question.

Yes [ ] Ifyes, have you successfully completed a training program in any state or jurisdiction of the United
States?
No [] Ifno, you do not qualify by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application.
Yes [ ] If yes, provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing (dated within the last
60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory body where the training was
completed** and provide the following:
Select the one license type you are requesting:

(" Barbers -Total number of training hours completed :

+ If the training was less than 880 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by
endorsement. Complete the Training Substitution Form.

(" Master Barbers -Total number of training hours completed* :

+ If the training was less than 1200 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by
endorsement. Complete the Training Substitution Form.

+
(" Cosmetologist -Total number of training hours completed

+ If the training was less than 1200 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by
endorsement. Complete the Training Substitution Form.

(" Nail Technician -Total number of training hours completed+:

+ If the training was less than 120 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by
endorsement. Complete the Training Substitution Form.

+
(" Wax Technician -Total number of training hours completed

+ If the training was less than 120 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by
endorsement. Complete the Training Substitution Form.
**|f the statefjurisdiction does not verify total hours for training, the Board will require a transcript from the training provider/training
program.

* (Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/
registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity,
etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or
undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485
14.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory
body? This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a
license in connection with a disciplinary action or voluntary termination of a license.
No []
Yes [] Ifyes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.

15.  Have you ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of
barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing denied by any (including Virginia)
local, state or national regulatory body?

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form.

16. A. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the
United States of any felony within the last 20 years?

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
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Have you been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the
United States of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution or
physical injury within the last two (2) years?

No []

Yes [ ] |Ifyes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

17. By signing this application, | certify the following statements:

e | am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this

application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.

| will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the
requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of
a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).

| authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any
person, or any source the department may contact. | also agree to present any credentials or documents
required or requested by the Department.

| authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or
business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.

| have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions
of Title 54.1, Chapter 7, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Regulations, Tattooing Regulations, Body Piercing Regulations and Esthetics Regulations as applicable.

Signature Date
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