Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

Prov Inc.

150 W Civic Center Blvd, Suite 601 Sandy, UT 84070 Telephone: (877) 228-3926 Email: support@provexam.com Website: www.provexam.com



## Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology **BARBER/MASTER BARBER - INSTRUCTOR EXAMINATION & LICENSE APPLICATION**

Instructions: Applicants are encouraged to apply online at https://provexam.com/

- > If you are unable to apply online, complete this form and mail this application with a cashier's check, money order, or credit card payment for the full amount of the examination fee, payable to Prov Inc and mail to: Prov Inc, 200 West Civic Center Drive, Suite 160, Sandy, UT 84070
- > Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit a new application and new examination fee.

				<u>o</u> o/(diffinite		ype you are requesting:		_
	×	Exar	nination Type	Fee	×	Examination Type	Fee	
		Barber - Pra	ctical & Theory Exam	\$194.00		Master Barber - Practical & Theory Exar	n \$194.00	
		Barber - Pra	ctical Exam	\$95.00		Master Barber - Practical Exam	\$95.00	
		Barber - The	eory Exam	\$99.00		Master Barber - Theory Exam	\$99.00	
		Instructor E	xam	\$99.00				
Fu	ll Lega	I Name (As	it appears on your go	vernment i	ssuec	ID or other legal documentation.)		
Las	st (requi	ired)	First	(required)		Middle		Suffix
Pro	ovide a	at least <u>one</u> o	of the following ident	ification n	umbe	ers <sup>*</sup> :		
[			Number and/or					
r								
[		•	ontrol Number					
[ >	Enter	the same identif	ication number as used on e			s applications or licenses on file with the department.		
*	Enter State	r the same identif law requires eve e Commonwealth	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ce	ertificate, regi	stration	s applications or licenses on file with the department. or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <i>Virginia</i> Department of Motor		cupation is
* Da Ma	Enter State by th ite of B	r the same identif law requires eve e Commonwealth Birth	ication number as used on e any applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security MM/DD/YYYY me(s)	ertificate, regi	stration	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade		cupation is
* Da Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A	r the same identif law requires event e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security 	ertificate, regi	stration	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade		cupation is
* Da Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Sirth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security <u>MM/DD/YYYY</u> me(s) Box accepted) iss will be	ertificate, regi number or a	stration	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade		ccupation is
* Da Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires event e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security <u>MM/DD/YYYY</u> me(s) Box accepted) iss will be	ertificate, regi	stration	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade		Ecupation is
* Da Ma Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Sirth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security <u>MM/DD/YYYY</u> me(s) Box accepted) iss will be	ertificate, regi number or a	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade	Vehicles.	
* Da Ma Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I Idress (PO E	micro number as used on e     ary applicant for a license, ca     to provide a social security     mm/DD/YYYY  me(s) Box accepted) ass will be icense.	ertificate, regi number or a	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor	Vehicles.	
* Da Ma Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I Idress (PO E	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security 	ertificate, regi number or a	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor	Vehicles.	
* Da Ma Ma	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I Idress (PO E	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security 	City	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor	/ehicles	Zip Code
* Da Ma Str	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th reet Ac PH	r the same identif law requires event e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I Idress (PO E YSICAL ADDR	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security 	ertificate, regi number or a	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor	Vehicles.	
* Da Ma Str	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th reet Ac PH	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Birth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addre printed on the I Idress (PO E	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security  MM/DD/YYYY me(s) Box accepted) ass will be icense. box <u>not</u> accepted) ESS REQUIRED	City City City City	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor 	/ehicles	Zip Code
* Da Ma Ma Str	Enter State by th aiden o ailing A Th reet Ac PH	r the same identif law requires even e Commonwealth Firth or Former Na address (PO e mailing addres printed on the I Idress (PO E YSICAL ADDR Vumbers	ication number as used on e ry applicant for a license, ca to provide a social security 	City City City City	stration control	or other authorization to engage in a business, trade number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor	State State State State	Zip Code

## Coloct .:.. e. ....

USE ONLY					1301	
OFFICE	DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY #	FILE #/LICENSE #	ISSUE DATE

Board for Barbers & Cosmetology/BARBER, MASTER BARBER & INSTR EXAM/LIC APP Page 1 of 5

9.	Are yo	ou re-a	pplying to take the Barber, Mast	er Barber or Barber Instructor exa	mination?
	No				
	Yes	;	If yes, provide your <u>previous</u> ex	camination information	
			Barber/Master Exam	Practical Exam	_ Theory Exam
			Barber Instructor Exam	(Month/Year taken) Month/Year taken:	(Month/Year taken)
10.		-	een <u>previously</u> licensed in Virgii gy, Nail Technician, or Wax Tec		the fields of Barber, Master Barber,
	Yes	; 🗌	If yes, provide your license nur	nber and expiration date below	
			VA License Number		Expiration Date
11.	Are vo	ou appl	lying for the Barber or Barber In	structor examination?	
	No Yes		If no, skip to question #12.	sing to qualify for the examination?	Select only <u>ONE</u> .
		barbe	pletion of an approved barber train or program approved by the Virginia acquired Documentation: Attach a com	a Department of Education	arber school or a Virginia public school
					inia program (at least 80% of Virginia's thin the United States and its territories
				icial school transcript indicating successful o ensing Board in the state where the training	completion of a substantially equivalent training was received.
		barbe Re	er work experience equired Documentation: Attach a cert	ificate, an official school transcript, or other	s required in Virginia) <u>and</u> five years of documentation verifying successful completion tion Form documenting at least five years of
		Comp	pletion of the Virginia apprenticeshi	p program in barbering	
		Re	equired Documentation: A completed	Department of Labor and Industry form avai	lable from your apprenticeship representative
		Virgiı	<i>nia licensed cosmetologist</i> with a <u>n</u>	ninimum of two years of work experien	nce
		V	A License Number		Expiration Date
		R	equired Documentation: Attach a com	pleted Barber & Cosmetology - Experience	Verification Form
			er training obtained in any Virginia sta equired Documentation: Attach a com		
		-	years of barbering experience in th equired Documentation: Contact the E		
			ing to take the <u>Instructor</u> examination		
	_				Expiration Date
				nation and past the reinstatement per the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmet	
		work	experience and have completed		he reinstatement period. Must provide
			rsement applicant required to com equired Documentation: Verification fro	plete Virginia examination. om the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosm	etology.

<ol><li>Are you applying for the Master Barber examinat</li></ol>	ion?
---	------

No	
----	--

Yes If yes, which method are you using to qualify for the examination? Select only ONE.

Completion of an approved master barber training program from an approved Virginia licensed barber school
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training Verification Form

Completion of an approved barber training or a dual barber/master barber training program in a Virginia licensed barber school or a Virginia public school barber program approved by the Virginia Department of Education *Required Documentation:* Attach a completed <u>Training Verification Form</u>

Completion of a master barber training which is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program (at least 80% of Virginia's required hours) that is obtained outside the Commonwealth of Virginia, but within the United States and its territories

**Required Documentation:** Attach a diploma or official school transcript indicating successful completion of 1500 hours of instruction or written verification from the Licensing Board in the state where the 1500 hours of training were received

## Completion of substantially equivalent master barber course (consisting of <u>less than</u> 80% of training hours required in Virginia) <u>and</u> five years of master barber work experience

**Required Documentation:** Attach a certificate, diploma or other documentation verifying successful completion of the master barber course and a completed <u>Barber & Cosmetology - Experience Verification Form</u> documenting at least five years of master barber work experience

Completion of the Virginia apprenticeship program in master barbering

**Required Documentation:** A completed Department of Labor and Industry form available from your apprenticeship representative

**<u>Virginia licensed cosmetologist</u>** with a <u>minimum</u> of two years of work experience

VA License Number Expiration Date **Required Documentation:** Attach a completed Barber & Cosmetology - Experience Verification Form

Master Barber training obtained in any Virginia state institution Required Documentation: Attach a completed <u>Training Verification Form</u>

Two years of master barbering experience in the United States armed forces *Required Documentation:* Contact the Board for further instructions

Previously licensed in Virginia by examination and past the reinstatement period. *Required Documentation: Verification from the Virginia Board for Barbers and* Cosmetology.

Endorsement applicant required to complete Virginia examination.

Required Documentation: Verification from the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.

- 13. Do you hold a current or have you ever held a **Barber, Master Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, or Wax Technician** license, certification or registration issued by any state or territory of the United States (excluding Virginia)?
  - No 🗌
  - Yes If yes, complete the following questions.
    - A. List the following state/jurisdiction where a license, certification or registration has been issued:

State/Jurisdiction	License, Certification or Registration Number	Expiration Date

В.	. Are you in good standing as a licensed, certified, or regis	tered professional for the states/
	jurisdictions listed above?	

No

☐ If <u>no</u>, provide an original Certification of Licensure<sup>•</sup>(dated within the last 60 days) from each state/jurisdiction where you are <u>not</u> in good standing.

• Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/ registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.); and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding.

Certification can be **emailed** from the regulatory body to the Board section at <u>bchoplicensing@dpor.virginia.gov</u> or **mailed** from the regulatory body to: Board for Barbers & Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485.

14. Have you ever been subject to a <u>disciplinary action</u> taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body? This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action or voluntary termination of a license.

No	
----	--

Yes 📋 If yes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.

15. Have you ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing <u>denied</u> by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?

No 🗌

- Yes 🗌 If yes, complete the <u>Denial of Licensure Reporting Form</u>.
- 16. A. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any **felony** within the last 20 years?

No 🗌

- Yes If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
- B. Have you been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any <u>misdemeanor</u> involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution or physical injury within the last two (2) years?
  - No 🗌
  - Yes If yes, complete the <u>Criminal Conviction Reporting Form</u>.
- 17. Are you applying for a temporary permit? **DOES NOT APPLY TO STUDENT INSTRUCTOR TEMPORARY PERMITS.** 
  - No 🗌
  - Yes  $\Box$  If yes, your sponsor must complete and sign the following sponsorship statement:

I, the undersigned, agree to supervise all activities related to the practice of barbering for the named applicant, and shall be responsible for his/her barber activities during the time the temporary permit is in force.

Printed Name of Sponsor

Signature of Sponsor

Sponsor's Virginia Barber's License No.

- 18. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:
  - I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
  - I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
  - I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
  - I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
  - I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology Regulations.

Signature

Date

- 19. Attach a professional passport compliant 2" x 2" color photo taken within the last 6 months to reflect your current appearance. It must meet the following requirements:
  - sized so that your head is approximately 1 inch from the bottom of the chin to the top of the head
  - taken in front of a plain white background
  - ⇒ be a full-face view, directly facing the camera with a neutral facial expression

