



## BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS CONTRACTOR LICENSING INFORMATION AND APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Contractor licenses are issued to business entities, not individuals.

Before completing the application, please review the *Board for Contractors Regulations*. This booklet includes the current statutes or laws (Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of Virginia) and the regulations of the Board for Contractors. Eligibility for a contractors is based on the knowledge, skills and abilities, financial position and other entry requirements set forth in §54.1-1106, §54.1-1108, and §54.1-1108.2 (subject to the exemptions in §54.1-1101) of the Code of Virginia. Please note that although a Virginia contractor's license may be granted to your business, the business must also comply with local licensing requirements set forth by the localities (cities, towns, and counties) in which your business plans to do work, contact your local Commissioner of the Revenue and Building Official for more information.

All applicants must have a thorough understanding of the Virginia Board for Contractor Regulations and meet the eligibility requirements at the time the completed application package is received at the Board office. For more information, please refer to the Board for Contractors web page – www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors.

Follow the instructions below to complete the CONTRACTOR LICENSE APPLICATION at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors.

## **THIS IS NOT AN APPLICATION**

When applying, applicants must select what class of license the company is applying for by marking the type of license (Class A, B or C) as seen below on page 1 of the application. \*This is not an application and is used for instructional purposes only.

Select the **one** license type you are requesting.

				, I U
Type of License	X	Trans Code	Initial License Fee*	Financial Documentation Included (select only <u>one)</u>
Class A		1022	\$385.00	☐ Financial Statement Form ☐ CPA review/audit
Class B		1021	\$370.00	Surety Bond Form
Class C		1020	\$235.00	N/A

Application fees may be adjusted if a company is applying for Commercial Improvement (CIC) or Commercial Building (CBC) *only*.

When completing the contractor application, you will be requested to provide the following information.

1. Enter the business entity or sole proprietor name. \*All names must be the same as displayed on organization/business documents or government issued ID. \*\*A sole proprietor should enter his/her full legal name and the company name should be entered below on line two as the assumed/fictitious name.

- 2. Enter the assumed or fictitious name for the business. \*A copy of the certificate filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC) pursuant to §59.1-69 of the Code of Virginia must be attached to the application
- 3. A. Select the type of business entity
  - B. Enter the State Corporation Number (SCC) if applicable. \*All businesses in Virginia must register with the SCC (including out-of-state businesses).
- 4. Enter the company's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or the sole proprietor's Social Security Number or <u>Virginia</u> DMV Control Number. \*State law requires every applicant, who is not a sole proprietor or solely owned LLC, to provide a FEIN.
- 5. Enter your mailing address. This is the address that will be printed on the license. PO Boxes are accepted.
- 6. Enter your street address, which is your physical address. If the Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed, simply check the box. Otherwise, provide your physical address. PO Boxes are not accepted as a physical address.
- 7. List your contact phone numbers. List your primary telephone number first, then an alternate telephone number if applicable.
- 8. Enter your email address. \*Note that email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.
- 9. List all contractor licenses, certifications and registrations from any jurisdiction outside of Virginia held by the Business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s) or Responsible Management.
  - If you want your current license reviewed for experience to sit for the technical specialty exam or reciprocity, you must provide a Certification/Letter of Good Standing. The Certification/Letter of Good standing must be prepared by the state board or regulatory body and must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license or renewal fee; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in violations or undetermined.
- 10. List <u>all</u> Responsible Management. This includes sole proprietor, partners of a general partnership, managing partner of a limited partnership, officers/directors of an association, managers/members of a limited liability company or officers of a corporation. \*Attach a clear legible copy of each individual's government issued photo identification.
- 11. List the Designated Employee or member of Responsible Management that completed the board approved pre-license education course. You are also required to enter the date the course was completed and the name of the education provider. \*All classes of license require the pre-license course to be completed. A list of approved courses can be found on our website at <a href="https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>. \*\*Attach a copy of the certificate received.

- 12. Each business will select a classification/specialty designation for which they are applying for and provide <u>one</u> Qualified Individual for each designations in section A or B. The Qualified Individual must meet the following criteria:
  - 1. Must be either a fulltime employee of the business (working a minimum of 30 hours or more with the business) or listed as a member of Responsible Management.
  - 2. Must have the minimum years of experience in the classification or specialty 2 years for a Class C license, 3 years for a Class B license and 5 years for a Class A license. \*An Experience Verification Form must be submitted for each Qualified Individual who is requesting a designation that requires pre-approval for an examination.
  - 3. Have successfully completed the appropriate prerequisite for the classification or specialty designation selected. The prerequisite for each is listed below, as well as on the application. \*For more information on these, see the Requirements for the Qualified Individual Form found on our website at <a href="https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>.

Applicants must hold a Certification for the following designations:

BEC – Blast/explosive MHC – Manufactured home contracting

RMC – Radon Mitigation SPR – Fire Sprinkler

Applicants must hold a valid license issued from DPOR for the following designations:

ADS – Alternative Disposal System ASB – Asbestos

ASC – Accessibility Services ASL – Accessibility Services with LULA

LPG – Liquefied petroleum gas NGF – Natural gas fitting provider

PLB – Plumbing WWP – Water well/pump

Applicants are required to be pre-approved and pass an examination for the following designations: \* All qualified individuals must submit an Experience Verification Form for these designations. \*\*Experience Verification form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors.

AES – Alternative energy systems H/H – Highway/heavy
PAV – Asphalt paving & seal coating HIC – Home Improvement
BSC – Billboard/sign IBC – Industrialized Building

CBC – Commercial Building INS – Insulation & Weather Stripping

CIC – Commercial improvement ISC – Landscape irrigation CEM – Concrete LSC – Landscape services DRY – Drywall Company MCC – Marine facility

ESC – Electronic/communication service BRK – Masonry

EMW – Environmental monitoring well PTC – Painting & wall covering ENV – Environmental specialties RFC – Recreational facility EMC – Equipment/machinery REF – Refrigeration

FIC – Farm improvement RBC – Residential Building

FIN – Finish Carpentry ROC – Roofing

FAS – Fire alarm systems FSP – Fire suppression STL – Steel Erection Contracting POL – Swimming pool construction

FLR – Flooring & Floor Covering FRM – Framing Sub Contractor GLZ – Glass & Glazing TMC – Tile, Marble, Ceramic & Terrazzo
UUC – Underground Utility & Excavating
VCC – Vessel construction

Applicants are required to receive special approval by the Board for the following designation: MSC – Miscellaneous Contracting

- A. If you are applying for Commercial Building (CBC) or Commercial Improvement (CIC) <u>only</u> you'll select CBC or CIC and complete the application box with the Qualified Individuals last name, first name, middle initial, years of experience, exam date if applicable, social security number or VA DMV number, VA Qualifying License number if applicable, and date of birth. If you're applying for Commercial Building or Commercial Improvement and/or any other specialty, you'll omit section A and proceed to section B. \*When applying for Commercial Building or Commercial Improvement <u>only</u>, the Contractor's Recovery Fund fee is not required and you're application fee is \$360 for Class A, \$345 for Class B and \$210 for Class C. \*\*Submit your experience verification form for each specialty.
- B. Complete the application with the three letter code for the specialty in which the company is applying for, then complete the remaining boxes with the Qualified Individuals last name, first name, middle initial, years of experience, exam date if applicable, social security number or VA DMV number, VA Qualifying License number if applicable, and date of birth. \*Submit your experience verification form for each required specialty.
- 13. Class C applicants skip to question 14. All Class A & Class B license applicants must declare a Designated Employee who has successfully completed the appropriate business examinations and is either a full-time employee of the business (working a minimum of 30 hours or more with the business) or listed as a member of Responsible Management. The required examinations are listed below and must be completed through PSI exams. PSI exams may be contacted at www.psiexams.com or 855-340-3910.

Class A – Advanced, General and Virginia examinations

Class B – General and Virginia examinations

14. If the Business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual, or Responsible Management has ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body, select YES on the application and complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form. You must provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decisions. \*Disciplinary Action Reporting Form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 15.

- 15. A. If the Business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual, or Responsible Management has ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony select YES on the application and complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form. Any plea or nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction. Virginia residents must provide a copy of their original criminal history record dated within ninety (90) days. You may request an original criminal history record by contacting the Virginia State Police at <a href="www.vsp.virginia.gov">www.vsp.virginia.gov</a> or by phone at 804-674-6718. \*Applicants with a conviction from other jurisdictions (other than Virginia) must provide a copy of an original official criminal history record from each state/jurisdiction in which they have been convicted dated within ninety (90) days. \*\*Criminal Conviction Reporting Form can be found at <a href="www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>. If no, select NO on the application and move to question 15 B.
  - B. If the Business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual, or Responsible Management has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any non-marijuana misdemeanor within the last three (3) years select YES on the application and complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction. Virginia residents must provide a copy of their original criminal history record dated within ninety (90) days. You may request an original criminal history record by contacting the Virginia State Police at <a href="https://www.vsp.virginia.gov">www.vsp.virginia.gov</a> or by phone at 804-674-6718.

    \*Applicants with a conviction from other jurisdictions (other than Virginia) must provide a copy of an original official criminal history record from each state/jurisdiction in which they have been convicted dated within ninety (90) days. \*\*Criminal Conviction Reporting Form can be found at <a href="https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 16.

16. If the business, Designated Employee or any member of Responsible Management has had any outstanding/past-due debts (including child support arrearages); judgements; past due 'unpaid' claims or suits; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or pending/past bankruptcies within the last five (5) years select YES on the application and complete the Adverse Financial History Reporting Form. You must provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decisions. \*\*Adverse Financial History Reporting Form can be found at <a href="https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 17.

- 17. The company must comply with the local licensing requirements of all counties, cities and towns in which work is performed. If all members of Responsible Management will comply, select YES and move to question 18. If all members of Responsible Management will not comply, select NO. If no is selected, the application cannot be processed.
- 18. Class C applicants skip to question 19. All Class A & B applicants must meet the minimum net worth/equity requirements (At least \$15,000 for Class B or \$45,000 for Class A applicants). If the company meets the net worth/equity requirements select YES. The firm must provide a completed Financial Statement Form with supporting documentation, a CPA review or audit, or a surety bond submitted on the Board's Surety Bond Form. \*The Financial Statement Form and Surety Bond Form can be found at <a href="https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors">www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors</a>.

19. All individuals listed on the application must sign the application. Electronic signatures that are not a facsimile of your signature are not accepted.

By signing the application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a Virginia license, you understand that this application serves as written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawful agency and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application, you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

By signing the application, all parties are certifying the following statements:

- I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
- I will notify the Board of any changes to information provided in this application prior to receiving requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
- I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
- I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
- I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of Virginia and the *Virginia Board for Contractors Regulations*.

When submitting your completed application, be sure to submit your application fee with it.