Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 (804) 367-8509 www.dpor.virginia.gov



Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians OPTICIANS - UNIVERSAL LICENSE RECOGNITION APPLICATION

	 DPOR may require an individual seel Code of Virginia, 	king a professional or occu §54.1-205 to pass an exami				ant to the
	<i>or</i> a completed <u>cre</u>	noney order payable to t edit card insert must be n PPLICATION FEES ARE	nailed with your applic		age.	
	S	Select <u>one</u> license type y	ou are requesting:			
	X	License Type	Trans	s Fee]	
	1101 - Licer	nsed Optician	1012	\$100.00		
	1101 - Unlic	ensed Optician - Universal Li	cense by exam 1010	\$100.00		
1.	Have you <u>ever</u> held a license and Regulation? NoYes	/or certificate issued by	the Virginia Departm	ent of Pro	fessional and	Occupational
2.	Full Legal Name (As it appears on y	our government issued ID	or other legal documen	tation.)		
	Last (required)	First (required)	Middle			Generation
3.	 Provide at least <u>one</u> of the following Social Security Number and/o <u>Virginia</u> DMV Control Number Enter the same identification number as a State law requires every applicant for a li 	used on examination, previous ap	- plications or licenses on file w			r occupation issued
4.	by the Commonwealth to provide a socia Date of Birth	I security number or a control nur (Must be 18 yea		epartment of N	lotor Vehicles.	
5.	Maiden or Former Name(s)					
6.	Mailing Address (PO Box accepted The mailing address will be printed on the license.) City			State	Zip Code
7.	Street Address (PO Box <u>not</u> accer PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED		Street Address is the <u>same</u> as	the Mailing A	ddress listed above	3.
		City			State	Zip Code
8.	Contact Numbers	ry Telephone	Alternate Telephone		Fa	Y
9.	Email Address					
	Email	address is considered a publ	ic record and will be disclo	sed upon ree	quest from a third	party.

USE ONLY 1101	OFFICE	DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY #	FILE #/LICENSE #	ISSUE DATE
	USE					1101	

- 10. Applicants who hold a *current* license/certificate:
 - A. Do you hold a *current* (non-Virginia) license or certificate issued by a regulatory board or government entity?
 - No 🗌 If no, skip to question #11.
 - Yes
 If yes, have you held this license/certificate for at least 3 years?
 - No 🗌 If no, you do not qualify for the Universal license. You may apply by using the Board's license application.
 - Yes 🗌
 - B. Did your current state or your state of original licensure/certification require you to pass an examination?
 - No If no, you do not qualify for the Universal license. You may apply using the Board's license application.
 - Yes If yes, did that state require you to complete any education, training and/or experience requirements to obtain this license/certificate?
 - No If no, you do not qualify for the Universal license. You may apply using the Board's license application.

Yes 🗌

C. Complete the following table and include all <u>current</u> and <u>expired</u> licenses and/or certification issued from any state, territory, possession, or jurisdiction of the United States.

A Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing[•] must be emailed from the state board/regulatory body directly to the <u>Board for Hearing Aid & Opticians</u> at <u>hasopt@dpor.virginia.gov</u> and must be dated within the last **60 days** from each jurisdiction.

State/Jurisdiction	License, Certification or Registration Number	Did you pass an examination?	Expiration Date
		Yes 🗌	

- Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/ registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license or renewal date; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding.
 - D. Do you have any unresolved complaints or investigations pending against you at the time you submitted this application?
 - No 🗌
 - Yes 🗌

If yes, please give a brief description of this complaint/pending investigation:

Skip to question #12.

- 11. For applicants who **<u>do not hold a current</u>** license or certificate.
 - A. Do you work in a state, or jurisdiction of the United States (other than Virginia) that does <u>not regulate</u> your profession?
 - No 🗌 If no, you do not qualify for the Universal license. You may apply using the Board's exam & license application.
 - Yes If yes, have you worked in this profession for a least three years?
 - No If no, you do not qualify for a Universal License at this time. You may apply using the Board's license application.
 - Yes 🗌

State/Jurisdiction:

- B. Have you ever passed an examination for this profession in any state or territory of the United States?
 - No If no, you <u>will</u> be required to take an examination upon the Board's review of your application.
 - Yes
 If yes, provide the following information about the examination:

Date of Examination

(MM/YYYY)

C. List all the state or jurisdiction of the United States where you have practiced this profession:

State/Jurisdiction	Profession/Occupation	Dates of Employment		
		Start (MM/YY)	Finished (MM/YY)	

- D. An <u>Experience Verification Form</u> must be complete and submitted along with this application. Is one attached?
 - No 🗌 Yes 🗌
 - > <u>Experience Verification Form</u> is located <u>here</u> and attached to the back of this application.
- 12. Have you ever been subject to a <u>disciplinary action</u> taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?
 - No 🗌
 - Yes If yes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.
- 13. A. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any **felony**?

No 🗌

- Yes If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
- B. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor (excluding marijuana convictions)?

No

Yes If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

Consent to Suits

By signing this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a *Virginia Optician License*, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawful agent attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

14. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:

- I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
- I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
- I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
- I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
- I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 15, of the *Code of Virginia* and the *Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians; Optician Regulations*.

Signature

Date

Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 (804) 367-8509 https://dpor.virginia.gov



Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians - UNIVERSAL LICENSE RECOGNITION

HEARING AID SPECIALIST & OPTICIANS - EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM

VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE GAINED OUTSIDE THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Section A - To be completed by the applicant.

Section B - To be completed by <u>one</u> of the individuals listed below who will verify the applicant's work experience.

- 1. Business/Store Owner
- 2. Business/Store Manager/Supervisor
- 3. Licensed Hearing Aid Specialist/Audiologist/Optician/Optometrist
- 4. Other * :
- * If "other" is chosen, your experience may be reviewed by the Board and this will result in a delay of your application being processed.

Section A: Applicant

1. Full Legal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)

	Last (required)	First (required)	Middle	Generation
2.	Provide one of the foll	owing identification numbers * :		
	Social Security	Number <u>and/or</u>		
	DMV Co	ntrol Number		
	Enter the same ident	ification number as used on examinatio	n, previous applications or licenses on file	with the department.
	•		on or other authorization to engage in a business ol number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of	· · · ·
3.	Mailing Address (PO E			
0.				
		City		State Zip Code
4.	Contact Numbers			
	-	Primary Telephone	Alternate Telephone	
5.	Email Address			
		Email address is considered a	public record and will be disclosed upon re	quest from a third party.
6.	Select the License typ		aring Aid Specialist ician	
7.	information that might		and statements are true, and that pprove this application. I also und disciplinary action.	

Applicant's Signature	Date	

: :: ar ea • ŝ

1.	Verifier's Information: Name				
		Email Address			
	Mailing Address				
	City	State Zip Code			
2.		describes your relationship to the applicant: (Select <u>all</u> that apply)			
	Business/Store Owner				
	Business/Store Manager/Su	ipervisor			
	☐ Licensed Professional: ○ H License Number	Hearing Aid Specialist			
		cription of you relationship to the applicant:			
	*Others may be a client, other unlid member should <u>not</u> be used to verif	censed verifier or copy of income tax returns filed with the IRS. A spouse or family fy experience.			
> 		ns for the Board to <u>verify</u> that an applicant has the experience necessary to become a licensed the Commonwealth of Virginia. Your response is appreciated.			
4.	Where did the applicant gain this ex	xperience described above in question #3?			
	A. Name of Business Entity/Store	e			
	B. Business Entity/Store Address	\$			
		City State Zip Code			
5.	Provide the date(s) of when this exp	perience was obtained:			
6.		dge, all information provided on this form is true and accurate. I understand that sult in the applicant being denied a license or possible disciplinary action brought			

Verifier's Signature Date