Board for Contractors 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, VA 23233-1485 https://dpor.virginia.gov



BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS TRADESMAN LICENSING INFORMATION AND APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Tradesman licenses are issued to INDIVIDUALS, not companies.

Before completing the application, please review the *Individual License and Certification Regulations*. This booklet includes the current statutes or laws (Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of Virginia) and the regulations of the Board for Contractors for Individual licenses and Certifications. Eligibility for Individual Tradesman is based on the knowledge, skills and abilities and other entry requirements set forth in §54.1-1129, and §54.1-1130 (subject to the exemptions in §54.1-1131) of the Code of Virginia.

All applicants must have a thorough understanding of the Virginia Board for Contractor Individual License and Certification Regulations and meet the eligibility requirements at the time the completed application package is received at the Board office. For more information, please refer to the Board for Contractors web page – www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen.

Follow the instructions below to complete the TRADESMAN EXAM & LICENSE APPLICATION at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen.

THIS IS NOT AN APPLICATION

When applying, applicants must select what trade designation(s) they're applying for and how they're applying by marking the designation(s) under 'Methods of Licensure' as seen below on page 1 of the application. *This is not an application and is used for instructional purposes only.

Select the designation(s) for which you are applying and one method of licensure for each.

Trade Designations	Methods of Licensure			
	Examination	Reciprocity	Apprenticeship Program	Card Exchange
	1005	1021	1022	1023
	Fee \$130.00	Fee \$130.00	Fee \$130.00	Fee \$95.00
Journeyman Electrical (ELE)				
Master Electrical (ELE)				
Journeyman Plumbing (PLB)				
Master Plumbing (PLB)				
Journeyman Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVA)				
Master Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVA)				
Journeyman Gas Fitting (GFC)				
Master Gas Fitting (GFC)				
Journeyman Liquefied Petroleum Gas Fitter (LPG)				
Master Liquefied Petroleum Gas Fitter (LPG)				
Journeyman Natural Gas Fitter Provider (NGF)				
Master Natural Gas Fitter Provider (NGF)				
Any applicant performing work over \$1,000 must contact	the Board for Cor	ntractors to obtai	n a Virginia Contra	ctors License

Note: If more than one trade is selected, the license will not be issued until all exams/qualifications are met.

If applicable, applicants must provide the license number of their current or previously issued license by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) or from the Virginia Board for Contractors.

When completing the individual application, you will be requested to provide the following information.

- 1. Enter your Full Legal Name (as it appears on your Government Issued ID or other legal documentation). You're required to enter it in the format below. *You must attach a clear legible copy of your Government Issued Identification.
- 2. Enter your Social Security Number *or* your <u>Virginia</u> DMV Control Number.

§54.1-116 requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor Vehicles.

- 3. Enter your Date of Birth in the format of MM/DD/YYYY. *All applicants must be 18 years of age.
- 4. List any maiden or former name(s). Attach copies of applicable documentation (Court documentation for Name Changes, Marriage Licenses, etc.).
- 5. Enter your mailing address. This is the address that will be printed on the license. PO Boxes are accepted.
- 6. Enter your street address, which is your physical address. If the Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed, simply check the box. Otherwise, provide your physical address. PO Boxes are not accepted as a physical address.
- 7. List your contact phone numbers. List your primary telephone number first, then an alternate telephone number if applicable.
- 8. Enter your email address. *Note that email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.
- 9. List your Employer's Name, Virginia Contractor's License Number (if applicable) and their Street Address.
- 10. If you hold a current Tradesman license, certification or registration issued by any other local, state or national regulatory body, other than Virginia, select YES, and complete the table within the application. If not, select NO and proceed to question number 11.

If you want your current license reviewed for experience or eligibility to sit for the exam or reciprocity, you must provide a Certification/Letter of Good Standing. The Certification/Letter of Good standing must be prepared by the state board or regulatory body and must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the

license or renewal fee; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in violations or undetermined.

11. If you have a tradesman card issued by the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development prior to July 1, 1995 or a tradesman card issued by any local governing body prior to July 1, 1978, and you're applying to swap this card, select YES and skip to question number 17. *You may only exchange your locality issued card once.

If no, select NO and move to question number 12.

- 12. For Journeyman applicants only. Master applicants proceed to question 13.
- A. If you successfully completed an apprenticeship program in Virginia, select yes and provide the name of the sponsor and attach a copy of the Apprenticeship Agreement Form with a completion approval stamp or an Apprenticeship Verification Form. Then skip to question number 17.

If no, select NO and proceed to B.

B. If you successfully completed an apprenticeship program in another state, select yes and provide the name of the sponsor and official document from the other state's regulating entity (for apprenticeship programs) verifying the apprenticeship program sponsor is registered in that state. You must attach the signed document by the apprenticeship sponsor verifying your experience and training. Then skip to question number 17.

If no, select NO and proceed to question number 13.

13. If you held a Class B Registration in the trade prior to January 1, 1991 and have been continuously licensed as a Class B contractor, select YES and provide your Virginia Contractor License Number. Then skip to question number 17.

If no, select NO and proceed to question number 14.

14. If you passed a Class A Virginia Board for Contractor trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, select YES and indicate the trades(s) in which you were tested and give the examination date(s) in the table within the application.

If no, select NO and proceed to question number 15.

15. For Journeyman applicants only. Master applicants proceed to question 16. On the application, select the requirement you have met in order to qualify for a journeyman exam tradesman license within the application. There are several ways to qualify, you will need to select one during the application process. Required Attachments: Individual Experience Verification form and certification(s) of completion or official transcripts. *Individual Experience Verification form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen. * If you want your current license reviewed for experience or eligibility to sit for the exam, you must provide a Certification/Letter of Good Standing. The Certification/Letter of Good standing must be prepared by the state board or regulatory body and must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the

expiration date of the license or renewal fee; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in violations or undetermined.

- Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 hours of formal vocational training.
- Five years of practical experience in the trade and 160 hours of formal vocational training.
- Six years of practical experience in the trade and 80 hours of formal vocational training.
- Seven years of practical experience in the trade and 40 hours of formal vocational training.
- Liquefied Petroleum & Natural Gas Fitters ONLY: Four years of practical experience in the trade and 80 hours of formal vocational training for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers.
- Associates degree or certificate of completion from at least a two-year program in a tradesman related field from an accredited community college or technical school and two years of practical experience in the trade for which licensure is requested.
- Bachelor's degree or certificate of completion from an accredited college or university in an
 engineering curriculum related to the trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for
 which licensure is requested.
- Ten years of practical experience in that trade as verified by individuals who have observed the applicant's work in the trade.
- Individuals currently certified or licensed as a journeyman or master by governing body located outside the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- 16. Master applicants only. Journeyman applicants proceed to question 16. On the application, select the requirement you have met in order to qualify for a master exam tradesman license within the application. There are several ways to qualify, you will need to select one during the application process. Required Attachments: Individual Experience Verification form and certification(s) of completion or official transcripts. *Individual Experience Verification form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen. * If you want your current license reviewed for experience or eligibility to sit for the exam, you must provide a Certification/Letter of Good Standing. The Certification/Letter of Good standing must be prepared by the state board or regulatory body and must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license or renewal fee; 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in violations or undetermined.
 - One year of practical experience as a licensed journeyman in the trade. *Provide your VA License number is applicable.
 - Ten years of practical experience in that trade as verified by individuals who have observed the applicant's work in the trade.
 - Individuals currently certified or licensed as a journeyman or a master by governing body located outside the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- 17. If you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body select YES on the application and complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form. You must provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decisions. *Disciplinary Action Reporting Form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 18.

18. A. If you have ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony select YES on the application and complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form. Any plea or nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction. Virginia residents must provide a copy of their original criminal history record. You may request an original criminal history record by contacting the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or by phone at 804-674-6718. *Applicants with a conviction from other jurisdictions (other than Virginia) must provide a copy of an original official criminal history record from each state/jurisdiction in which they have been convicted. **Criminal Conviction Reporting Form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 19.

B. If you have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any

jurisdiction of the United States of any non-marijuana misdemeanor select YES on the application and complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction. Virginia residents must provide a copy of their original criminal history record. You may request an original criminal history record by contacting the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or by phone at 804-674-6718. *Applicants with a conviction from other jurisdictions (other than Virginia) must provide a copy of an original official criminal history record from each state/jurisdiction in which they have been convicted. **Criminal Conviction Reporting Form can be found at www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Tradesmen.

If no, select NO on the application and move to question 19.

19. You must sign the application. Electronic signatures that are not a facsimile of your signature are not accepted.

By signing the application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a Virginia license, you understand that this application serves as written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawful agency and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application, you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

18-VAC-50-30-30.7 of the Board for Contractors Individual License and Certification Regulations states, "Each non-resident applicant for a license or certificate shall file and maintain with the department an irrevocable consent for the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth. In those instances where service is required, the director of the department will mail the court document to the individual at the address of record."

By signing the application, you're certifying the following statements:

- I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
- I will notify the Board of any changes to information provided in this application prior to receiving requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
- I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
- I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
- I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Contractors Individual License and Certification Regulations.

When submitting your completed application, be sure to submit your application fee of \$130 with it.