The Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists is composed of three professional soil scientists, three wetland delineators, three geologists, two citizen members, and the State Geologist.
Learn more about the Board's transition to national soil scientist exam, including another opportunity to test in Nov. 2014.
Professional Soil Scientists| Wetland Delineators | Geologists
Applicants must read and understand the Board Regulations. Application fees are not refundable.
DPOR Boards only accept the most recent versions of the applications provided below. DPOR Boards are not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provides access to the board's meeting schedule, agendas, and past meeting minutes.
Visit the Town Hall: http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewboard.cfm?boardid=15&display=meetings
Soil Scientists and Wetland Delineators Exams | Geologist Exam
Applicants must obtain approval from the Board prior to taking the exam.
Exam Registration Period opens Jan. 11, 2016 and closes March 4, 2016.
July 11, 2016 (for November exam)Exam Registration Period opens Aug. 15, 2016 and closes Oct. 7, 2016.
Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
Only applicants approved by the Board should contact the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) at (608) 273-8085 or email@example.com.
Only applicants approved by the Board should contact the DPOR Examinations Section at (804) 367-8544 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Virginia Board uses the national examination developed by the National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG).Applicants must obtain approval from the Board prior to taking the exam.
You may reach us by phone at 804-367-8506 (Licensing Section) or 804-367-8514 (Board Office), by FAX at (866) 465-6206, or by e-mail at BPSSandWP@dpor.virginia.gov or Geology@dpor.virginia.gov. Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals and GeologistsDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
Yes. Refer to the Board Regulations for more information.
Mail a check for $35.00 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, along with a completed Certification Request Form (PDF). Please specify whether the certification should be sent to you or directly to the other state board.
Send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, and include your certificate number on your check. Mail this information to:Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and GeologistsDepartment of Professional & Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
You CANNOT represent yourself as a Virginia certified professional if you are not currently certified by the Board.
No. Board regulations allow a 30-day grace period in which a license may be renewed without penalty (therefore, your payment is actually 31 days late). Staff cannot waive the fee.
Regulations state that if the requirements for renewal, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not complete within 30 days of the expiration date, a reinstatement fee is required.
Yes. Regulations state that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the certificate holder of the obligation to renew.
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. If the renewal fee is received after the due date, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee.
Many Boards allow you to update your ADDRESS using Online Services, so login to your personal profile to see if this is an option for your license type. The alternative is to complete, print, sign, and submit an Address Change Form to the Board office by mail. Unless updated online, all Address Change Forms must be received by the Board in writing. When providing a post office box as the mailing address, it must be accompanied by the physical address.
To report a NAME CHANGE: complete, print, sign, and submit a Name Change Form to the Board office. All name changes must be received by the Board in writing. Individual name change requests must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, or other official documentation that verifies the name change.
Kathleen (Kate) R. Nosbisch
Marian BrooksTonia Harrison
Board members are appointed by the Governor. To learn more about the gubernatorial appointment process, visit the Secretary of the Commonwealth's website.
DPOR stands ready to assist veterans and active-duty military personnel as they maintain or transition to civilian careers requiring professional credentials.
Active-duty military personnel and their spouses having served outside the U.S., as well as certain diplomatic service members and veterans, may be eligible to receive up to a five-year extension for meeting license renewal requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-117 of the Code of Virginia).
Spouses of active-duty military personnel assigned to a duty station in Virginia are eligible for expedited processing using the Military Spouse Expedited License Application (PDF). A temporary, non-renewable six-month license for certain military spouses licensed in another state who need more time to meet Virginia-specific requirements may also be an option.
For honorably discharged veterans, “substantially equivalent” military training, education, or experience may be credited toward certain license requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-118).In addition, the Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs may reimburse veterans for the cost of license or certification exams. See the VA Pamphlet 22-02-1 for more information.
Don't have them yet? Don't worry. You will be able to create your profile and complete registration from the login page.
please contact us in writing or via telephone and we will work with you to make the information available.